HUMANS ETCETERA To Release Tenth Album, A Normal Temporary Reaction To Life Events, On New Year’s Eve; “Big Snow Mountain” Video Now Playing

[photo by radiotheartist]

Eclectic rock/alternative act HUMANS ETCETERA has completed its tenth full-length album, A Normal Temporary Reaction To Life Events, which is being prepared for release on New Year’s Eve through their allies at Nefarious Industries. With the cover artwork, track listing, preorders, and other details, the first audio from the album has been released through an official video for the track “Big Snow Mountain.”

HUMANS ETCETERA is an experimental rock outfit and passion project of singer/songwriter/recording artist, Christopher Henry. Primarily a solo endeavor, occasionally a collaborative effort, the music of HUMANS ETCETERA is created in the time between work with his other China-based bands — Fuck Your Birthday and Polyphozia – both in which Henry wears the singer/guitarist shoes. HUMANS ETCETERA began in 2012 as Henry’s outlet for recording experiments and songwriting, the artist using the project to relax from the pressure of being a full-time college student at West Virginia University and holding down a part-time job as a photo-tech.

A Normal Temporary Reaction To Life Events is an experimental rock album that sews together a mental unravelling from sides both before and beyond sleep. It begins with lulling hypnotic guitar and drum loops and wades deeper and deeper into a psychedelic mess of anxiety and depression. The protagonist is worried about the future, afraid of riding ahead alone, and tries to gather confidence but breaks down at the awareness of reality’s callousness. From here, he tries escapism via alcohol, and soon succumbs to vivid dreams of being lost in the Daisetsu mountains, hypothermia, autosarcophagy, and being transported through dream-death to a world in which the only currency is hope itself. He stands in the metro station with an empty wallet and feels torn between asking for help or hiding behind a phone screen. The listener must then make the choice: repeat the cycle with the comfort of familiarity or go it alone.

HUMANS ETCETERA‘s A Normal Temporary Reaction To Life Events was written and captured incrementally from November 2016 to October 2019 in Wenzhou, China by Christopher Henry, who handles all vocals, guitars, bass, drums, keys, xylophone, sampling, recording, mixing, and cover artwork. The album was then mastered by Bill Henderson at Azimuth Mastering. The “Big Snow Mountain” video was filmed by Henry while traveling in Xiamen, China.

See HUMANS ETCETERA’s “Big Snow Mountain” video at THIS LOCATION.

Nefarious Industries will release A Normal Temporary Reaction To Life Events digitally on December 31st. While all digital platforms will carry the album, those who preorder directly from Nefarious will receive two additional original bonus tracks in addition to the album’s eleven songs. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE and all digital platforms HERE.

Henry is also writing and performing with Fuck Your Birthday, in preparation for recording their next album. Meanwhile, Polyphozia has nearly completed their debut album and are looking at spring 2020 release and China tour. One thing’s for sure, the future won’t be without the prolific delivery of Henry’s musical works.

A Normal Temporary Reaction to Life Events Track Listing:
1. Dreamlife
2. Post-Art Panic
3. Afraid To Be Afraid
4. This Sucks
5. Lemon
6. For The Sake of Truth
7. Big Snow Mountain
8. Ouroboros
9. Metro Stops: Trojan Hopes
10. Metro Stops: Odd Dreams
11. Metro Stops: Looping Fears
12. Black Friday (bonus track)
13. The Party Is Over (bonus track)