ZVI: Nefarious Industries Issues Details For Deer Pink, New Album From The Solo Project Of Kayo Dot, Sabbath Assembly, Psalm Zero Member Ron Varod; Trailer + Preorders Posted

[photos by Justina Villanueva]

Nefarious Industries announces the details for ZVI‘s new full-length album, Deer Pink, now confirmed for release in April.

ZVI is the eclectic solo project of NYC-based multi-instrumentalist Ron Varod, known for his roles in Kayo Dot, Sabbath Assembly, Psalm Zero, So Is The Tongue, and others. While previous ZVI material can be interpreted as a minimal experimental drone twist on the traditional singer/songwriter, 2019 ushers in a new era of experimentation with Deer Pink.

Fully written by Ron Varod, who contributes vocals, guitars, synths, programming, and electronics, ZVI‘s Deer Pink offers six lush tracks delivering a diverse forty-six minutes of avant/experimental tones and movements, the album introducing psychedelic analog synths and warped drum machines while flirting with pop melodies. The LP was engineered, produced, and mixed by Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, (Sunn O))), Anna Von Hausswolff, Boris) and mastered by Brian Pyle of Ensemble Economique. The record features contributions from Randall Dunn as well as Carl Gene, Toby Driver (Kayo Dot, Secret Chiefs 3, Tartar Lamb, Vaura), and Matthew Keys (A Fucking Elephant, East Of The Wall), and is complemented by the artwork of Paul Cristina and layout by Greg Meisenberg.

See a brief trailer for Deer Pink created by Paul Chenault / Noire Media at THIS LOCATION.

Nefarious Industries will issue ZVI‘s Deer Pink on CD and digital platforms on April 12th. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Deer Pink Track Listing:
I. Kettle Dreams
II. Dear Pink
III. Follow The Snake
IV. Low & Trite
V. The Amputee
VI. Handcramps

Watch for track previews, official videos from the album, and more to be issued in the weeks ahead.

The Deer Pink LP follows the recent release of a special advance 7″ single for the LP’s title track, “Dear Pink,” backed with a cover of Portishead’s “Undenied,” which can be found HERE.

Varod is performing ZVI material live advancing the release of the album regionally, including a show in Philadelphia April 4th with Gargoyl, featuring members of Revocation and more. He is also embarking on a West Coast tour directly in conjunction with the release of the album, beginning with a four-date trek through Southern California April 4th through 7th alongside Jerkagram, with other acts including No Lights featuring members of Kawloon Walled City and more also playing throughout the run. Directly following the tour, ZVI heads north for a three-date Pacific Northwest run April 11th through 13th with To End It All and Xiphoid Dementia. Watch for additional tour dates to be announced.

ZVI Tour Dates:
4/04/2019 Milk Boy – Philadelphia, PA w/ Gargoyl
4/05/2019 The Smell – Los Angeles, CA w/ Jerkagram, Thief
4/06/2019 The Sorting Facility – Paso Robles, CA w/ Jerkagram, Malfet
4/07/2019 Elbo Room Jack London – Oakland, CA w/ Jerkagram, Ensemble Economique, No Lights
4/11/2019 Teatro de la Psychomachia – Seattle, WA w/ To End It All, Xiphoid Dementia, Vanessa Skantze, Lye Feast [info]
4/12/2019 Cryptatropa – Olympia, WA w/ To End It All, Xiphoid Dementia, Clayface [info]
4/13/2019 Azoth – Portland, OR w/ To End It All, Xiphoid Dementia, Caustic Touch [info]

Slowly taking shape over the course of a few scarce live outings and recordings dating back to 2004, ZVI‘s self-titled debut was finally released in 2014. Death Stops Us All followed in 2016, featuring guest vocalist Alan Dubin (Khanate, Gnaw), engineer Colin Marston (Gorguts, Krallice), and the mastering talents of James Plotkin (Khanate) to better capture Varod’s expansive sonic palate.

The past several years saw ZVI embarking on several tours throughout the United States, Canada, and Europe opening for acts such as The Black Queen, Mouth Of The Architect, Jonah Matranga (Far, etc.), and Telefon Tel Aviv, as well as a slot on the 2018 Roadburn Festival in Tilburg, Netherlands alongside Converge, Godflesh, Zola Jesus, and Godspeed You! Black Emperor.