WOLFSHADE’s When Above… Out Now On Wraith Productions

Esoteric and mysterious, WOLFSHADE explore uncharted terrain on third full-length When Above… An introspective voyage into bleak solitude and haunted resignation, When Above… offers seven mournful, organic lamentations that escort the listener to an altered state of mind, ushered there by hypnotic, trance-like odes to birth, regeneration, uncreation and (ultimately) demise.

Recorded at Raven Circle Studios in France, this time founding muse Kadhaas is joined by like-minded acolyte Samigina on the mystical journey, culminating in a new atmosphere for WOLFSHADE that is at once claustrophobic yet strangely comforting. The powerful and poignant paeans instinctively daub their despairing tones across a rich and varied black metal canvas, evoking a myriad of hues, moods, shades and textures. This is music for the famished, betrayed, disillusioned soul. Surrender to the impending onset of melancholy; embrace the emptiness; cede to your inevitable, irreversible fate. In the end, we are all alone.

When Above… Track Listing:

1. ἀποκατάστασις
2. Ex Nihilo
3. Bene Elohim
4. Au Tombeau des illusions
5. Thrénodie pour un astre mourant
6. Le Réfugié des Passions
7. Incipit Vita Nova

When Above… is available now via Wraith Productions.

“Epic and progressive, WOLFSHADE is working hard to elevate the genre to new heights… ” — Corazine

“When Above… is seven tracks of atmospherically dominant black metal with desperate almost overly-dramatic vocals.” — StereoKiller

“The band does a great job in keeping things fresh, but still maintaining the overall depressive atmosphere that will crush your soul during the almost 50 minutes of music presented on When Above….” — Infernal Masquerade.

“Excellent album.” — Minacious