VERDUN: Metal Injection Debuts “Narconaut” Video From French Sludge/Doom Practitioners; Split With OLD IRON To See US Via Satanik Royalty Records Later this Month

Montpellier, France’s sludge/doom practitioners VERDUN today unleash their brand new video for “Narconaut.” Now playing at Metal Injection, the crushing track comes by way of the band’s split 12” with

Seattle, Washington-based sludge bringers, OLD IRON. Initially released in Europe last Fall, the four-track offering will see release in the US via Satanik Royalty Records February 25th!

Notes VERDUN of the track, ” ‘Narconaut’ was a challenge for us in describing feelings, trying new things in composition/structures and to be more intense than ever…. To let it go as when you’re on acid. Thanks Gom Pilote for the video.”

Writes Metal Injection, “Across its eight hazy minutes, ‘Narconaut’ conjures filth riff after filthy riff, leaving nothing identifiable in its wake.”

View VERDUN’s “Narconaut” at Metal Injection HERE.

Forged in 2010, VERDUN made a name in the realm of slow and heavy music on the basis of a simple three-track demo, leaving a strong impression on every witness of the band’s thunderous live shows. The band has since released two full-lengths: The Eternal Drift’s Canticles (2016) and Astral Sabbath (2019). Far from simple amplifier worship, the band excels at tinting their sludge/doom roots with metallic hardcore toughness, burden-of-the-world melodies and charismatic vocals, switching between echoed screams from outer space, spoken words or mournful clean vocals. VERDUN develops its hybrid doom/hardcore through a composition of new track “Narconaut” and a very personal rendition of Morbid Angel’s classic “Dawn Of The Angry.”

OLD IRON aspires to weave sprawling psychedelic sludge tapestries. Jerad Shealey (The Helm, Heiress) and Jesse Roberts (Sandrider, Kid Congo Powers, The Ruby Doe) started writing music with original drummer Brandon Ramses during 2011 with the goal of getting loud, heavy, and weird. Later that year their first self-released full-length Cordyceps (2012) was recorded in Jesse’s basement. Current drummer, Trent McIntyre joined the ranks soon after. With McIntyre in the equation their second record came into focus. With Matt Bayles (Mastodon, Botch) at the engineering helm, Lupus Metallorum (2016) was recorded at The Red Room in Seattle and released on Good To Die records in 2016. Shealey crossed paths with Florien of VERDUN while touring with Kid Congo Powers and a lasting friendship was born. They kept in touch and eventually the idea of a split came up and the rest is history.

The OLD IRON/VERDUN  split will be released via Satanik Royalty on vinyl (clear and orange smoke) and is available for preorder HERE. Find digital preorders at THIS LOCATION.

View OLD IRON’s previously released  video for “Planetesimal” HERE.

OLD IRON/VERDUN Split Track Listing:

    1. Planetesimal – OLD IRON
    2. Strix Nebulosa – OLD IRON
    3. Narconaut – VERDUN
    4. Dawn Of The Angry (Morbid Angel Cover) – VERDUN

Jesse Roberts – guitar, vocals, vibraphone
Jerad Shealey – bass, vocals, percussion
Trent McIntyre – drums, percussion

Geraud Jonquet – drums
Florien Celdran – bass
Jay Pinelli – guitars
David Sadok – vocals
Additional Musicians:
Said Merqi – guitar solo on “Dawn Of The Angry”
Benjamin Hameau – noise on “Dawn Of The Angry”

VERDUN photo by Emmanuel Saldana

OLD IRON photo by Matt Koroulis