TUSCOMA: New Zealand Blackened Metal Outfit To Release Third Album, Gu-cci, Through Landmine Records In June; Teaser, Cover Art, And More Issued

Wellington, New Zealand-based metal act TUSCOMA is preparing for the release their third album, Gu-cci, in June through Landmine Records, the label formed by countrymates Blindfolded And Led To The Woods.

Formed in 2018, TUSCOMA quickly crafted a reputation of deliv­ering the most intense live show you could attend. The hotly anticipated debut Arkitecturenominus and follow-up record Discourse were both critically and publicly praised as being intense, angular, and often uncomfortable experiences that represented some of the best New Zealand metal had to offer. This led to two successful tours of Europe and touring around their home country with Deafheaven, Wiegedood, Wolves In The Throne Room, Belphegor, and many other top-tier metal acts.

Now, 2022 sees TUSCOMA in preparations to release their fol­low-up to Discourse with the ravenous third album, Gu-cci. Marking the band’s first recording with a dedicated bass player, Gu-cci blends atmospheric textures of early shoegaze bands with punishing contemporary songwriting and rhythm sections reminiscent of black metal and hardcore creating a visceral and completely unique experience for hardened vet­erans of heavy music who might know exactly what to expect from a modern metal album. An ambitious but expertly delivered album, its five expansive tracks encompass more than thirty-eight minutes, the songs ranging from less than four minutes to nearly fourteen in length.

Gu-cci was recorded by Evan Pope at Studio 11b in Mount Maunganui, New Zealand, mixed by Chris Johnson at Electric Bunker in Boston, Massachusetts, mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music in Cornwall-On-Hudson, New York, and completed with photography by George L Clarke and design by Kurt and Olga Williams.

Watch a brief teaser for TUSCOMA’s Gu-cci at THIS LOCATION.

TUSCOMA has partnered with Landmine Records for the release of Gu-cci, which will be first delivered digitally and on vinyl on June 30th. Watch for audio samples, video content, preorders, vinyl updates, and more to post over the weeks ahead.

Gu-cci Track Listing:
1. Emotions Divided By Lights
2. Impeccable
3. The Importance of Being Vogue
4. The Stylish Void
5. Aris Dazed

Kurt Williams – vocals, guitar
Joe Wright – drums
Craig Leahy – bass