TERMINALIST: Danish-American Thrash Act To Release The Great Acceleration Debut LP Via Indisciplinarian In May; Ghost Cult Magazine Premieres “Relentless Alteration” Video + Preorders Posted

photo by Johan Von Bülow

Indisciplinarian presents The Great Acceleration, the debut LP by sci-fi hyperthrash quartet, TERMINALIST. Announcing the album’s May 7th release, the cover art, track listing, preorders, and more have been issued, and an official video for the advance single “Relentless Alteration” has been premiered through Ghost Cult Magazine.

The world is ruled by speed. Speed which drives history forward in a state of ever-increasing acceleration. Such is the central claim of dromology; a theory of speed originated by French philosopher Paul Virilio (1932-2018). It is on this premise that the new Danish-American sci-fi thrashers TERMINALIST base their conceptual universe. On The Great Acceleration, they bring the dromocratic philosophy together with their own science fiction narratives as they describe a world in crisis and a planet in collapse being abandoned in favor of colonization of space.

The Great Acceleration was recorded and produced by Lasse Ballade (Konvent, Alkymist, Deiquisitor, Slægt, Orm) at Ballade Studios in Copenhagen during the summer of 2020, mastered by V. Santura (Triptykon, Dark Fortress) at Woodshed Studio in Germany, and completed with fascinating artwork created by Ryan T. Hancock.

As TERMINALIST unveils the video for the first single, “Relentless Alteration,” lead singer, guitarist, and lyrical mastermind Emil Hansen elaborates on the song’s theme: “Our modern world is one permeated by crises and fueled by constant changes happening at a seemingly increasing rate. This song and its visual montage-style accompaniment is about feeling the firm ground crumble beneath you and utilizing the disturbances to take flight – a move exhilarating, yet terrifying.”

Ghost Cult writes, “The self-described hyperthrash band is at times progressive, brutal, and unrelentingly fast.”

Watch TERMINALIST’s new “Relentless Alteration” video now playing at Ghost Cult Magazine RIGHT HERE.

The Great Acceleration will see release May 7th on LP (limited to 300 black and 100 red copies), cassette, and digital formats. Preorders are now available through the Indisciplinarian webshop HERE. Fans of Voivod, Skeletonwitch, Coroner, Sadus, and Vektor take note.

Watch for additional audio previews and more on TERMINALIST to be issued over the months ahead.

The Great Acceleration Track Listing:
1. Relentless Alteration
2. Terminal Dispatch
3. Invention of the Shipwreck
4. Estranged Reflection
5. Dromocracy

TERMINALIST formed in 2018 and debuted a year later with the EP, Abandon All Liberties, followed in 2020 by the “Voyagers” single. The four-man band harkens back to the traditional and technical thrash metal of the late 1980s, bringing it up to date by fusing it with black metal blast beats, death metal growls, and grandiose prog rock concepts. The result is modern in its concoction, yet retro in its appeal; a style the band itself has dubbed hyperthrash.

TERMINALIST uses the lens of dromology to describe the duality of technology and investigate Virilio’s thesis that the invention of the ship was also the invention of the shipwreck; continuing the thrash metal tradition of political criticism and pessimism about the future. Yet, the band’s output fits in among a new generation of metal bands using the genre’s monstrous sounds to illustrate the downfall of modern society in favor of something new and unknown. This is conveyed in a sound which is fast and aggressive, melodic, and dynamic; catchy yet technical.

Emil Hansen – vocals, guitars
Morten R. Bruun – guitars
Kalle Tiihonen – bass
Frederik Amris – drums