TARJA TURUNEN + MIKE TERRANA To Release Classical/Rock Collaboration, Beauty & The Beat, Next Month

TARJA TURUNEN‘s and MIKE TERRANA‘s Beauty & The Beat transcends any ordinary concert. It’s an awe-inspiring performance of a wide range of classical compositions and traditional rock songs sewn together by an orchestra and choir. Originally intended as a novel, one-time event in 2011, the show garnered critical adoration from fans and media alike. In the Spring of 2013, former Nightwish songstress, TURUNEN, and drummer TERRANA, brought these eclectic sounds to the stage again, touring throughout the world, from Poland to Russia to Mexico, all captured on the 2XCD set, Beauty & The Beat.

The compositions comprising Beauty & The Beat include classic pieces by Bach, Strauss, Mozart and Rossini, without neglecting pure rock numbers from Led Zeppelin, Queen and TARJA‘s own work. It’s all combined with an orchestra and choir with more than one-hundred musicians on stage, an enormous sound, spirited drum work and TARJA‘s angelic voice. TURUNEN and TERRANA complement each other musically. Whereas TERRANA bangs his drums with rock attitude, TURUNEN shines with her crystal clear voice and majestic stage presence all lulled with the warm, full sound of an orchestra.

TURUNEN elaborates: “The idea of having a symphonic orchestra, choir and Mr. TERRANA on drums was originally mine. Mike has done a recording with drums over classical pieces that I think is great. I immediately imagined it performed live on a stage with a real orchestra as a part of a bigger concept. I believe this kind of combination of instruments, particularly playing mainly classical music, is very unique. I have been making collaborations with orchestras before and I could foresee a great outcome. Our main goal with these kind of concerts is that the younger audience experiences the beauty and power of a symphonic orchestra and choir. Hopefully it will serve as an introduction to classical music for some of our fans.”

TERRANA jokingly adds: “It’s obvious that I provide the beat and Tarja provides the beauty.”

Beauty & The Beat Track Listing:

CD 1

1. Mike – Concert For Violin & Oboe (Bach)
2. Tarja – Blute Nur (Bach)
3. Tarja – Zueignung – Op. 10, No. 1 (Strauss)
4. Mike – Barber of Seville (Rossini)
5. Mike – New World Symphony (Dvorák)
6. Tarja – Song To The Moon (Dvorák)
7. Tarja – Vilja Lied (Lehár)
8. Tarja – O mio babbino caro (Puccini)
9. Mike – Can-can (Offenbach)
10. Tarja – I Feel Pretty (Leonard Bernstein)
11. Mike – William Tell Overture (Rossini)
12. Tarja – Mein Herr Marquis (Strauss)
13. Mike – Eine kleine Nachtmusik (Mozart)

CD 2

1. Tarja – You Take My Breath Away (Queen)
2. Tarja & Mike – The Reign (Tarja)
3. Tarja & Mike – Witch-hunt (Tarja) 4. Tarja & Mike – Led Zeppelin Medley
5. Tarja & Mike – Swanheart (Nightwish)
6. Mike & Tarja – Fly Me To The Moon (Frank Sinatra)
7. Tarja & Mike – Into The Sun (Tarja)
8. Tarja & Mike – I Walk Alone (Tarja)

Beauty & The Beat will be released in North America via Eagle Rock imprint Armoury Records on June 10th, 2014.