SECRETS OF THE SKY: Oakland Prog-Doom Act Signs With Kolony Records

Italy’s Kolony Records has just added Oakland, California-based progressive doom metal sextet SECRETS OF THE SKY to the label’s ever-expanding roster.

Three of the band’s six members each contributing with multiple instruments, SECRETS OF THE SKY projects a unique brand of cinematic, cerebral, atmospheric metal with a heavy persuasion towards doom metal and even more blackened influences citing The Ocean, Opeth, Isis, Agalloch and others.

The debut album from this new but skilled act, To Sail Black Waters, was recorded over an eight month period with engineer/producer Juan Urteaga (Testament, Machine Head, Cattle Decapitation) at Trident Studios, the massive album boasting SECRETS OF THE SKY‘s entirely modern and unique back-bending of elements from a multitude of genres. With up to three guitar tracks, two and three keyboards at a time and a multitude of vocal styles — clean and epic lines against hollow and blackened battle cries and crushing, low-end growls — the band creates huge buildups and epic movements as expansive as the cosmos.

To Sail Black Waters caught the attention of Kolony Records, who have inked a deal with SECRETS OF THE SKY, and are planning for a proper, official worldwide CD and digital release of the album late this Summer, the street date to be announced in the coming days.

Having performed throughout the Bay Area since early 2012, alongside killer acts from the region including Black Cobra, Saviours and more, SECRETS OF THE SKY will share the stage with KEN Mode and the mighty Torche at a hometown show at the Oakland Metro Operahouse this Tuesday, May 21st. Stay tuned for much more on SECRETS OF THE SKY over the coming months.

5/21/2013 Oakland Metro Operahouse – Oakland, CA w/ Torche, KEN Mode

To Sail Black Waters Track Listing:
1. Winter
2. Decline
3. Sunrise
4. Black Waters

Garett Gazay – vocals, keyboards, violin
Chris Anderson – guitars, keyboards
Clayton Bartholomew – guitars, keyboards
Andrew Green – guitars
Ryan Healy – bass
Lance Lea – drums