RISK RELAY: New Jersey Quartet Issues Details Of Fourth Album, As We Descend, Set To See Release Through Nefarious Industries

risk-relay-01_web-photo-by-gabrielle-dolceamore[photo by Gabrielle Dolceamore]

Closing a three-year gap since their prior album, New Jersey-based quartet RISK RELAY has issued the details of their upcoming fourth album, As We Descend, now confirmed for release through Nefarious Industries this November.

RISK RELAY sought out new inspirational energy and direction for the creation of this new concept recording. Recorded between March and June of 2016 in full analog to 2″ tape, engineered by RISK RELAY drummer Brian Buccellato at his own Volume IV studio in New Brunswick, after which it was mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side. The lyrics for As We Descend are inspired by the late nineteenth-century science fiction novel, Etidorpha, which depicts the story of a man banished to an alternate world within the center of the Earth, this theme also reflected in the artwork created by Bryan Elkins.

While there is still a nod to the frenetic buzz of their earlier work, As We Descend showcases a very apparent evolution in RISK RELAY‘s songwriting and arrangements. The trademark dissonant guitar interplay from Ed Dailey and Mark Weinberg remains, as do the intricate, syncopated rhythms, brought by Buccellato’s drumming and Steve Bumgarner’s basslines. Dailey’s intelligent lyrics guide the listener on a journey through the abyss, reflecting the emotional distress of the book’s main character, longing for both what he’s seen and what remains to be seen. Some of the vocal effects were achieved by setting up mics in large, echoing staircases, and Buccellato deployed his feedback guitar technique on the song “My Weight Disappearing,” which has been a staple of every album thus far. In the end, re-emerging from the subterranean, we encounter the band’s most engaging collection of songs to date.

As We Descend will see release through Nefarious Industries on November 18th on all digital platforms as well as 12″ LP. Audio samples, preorder info, and much more will be issued in the weeks ahead.

11/19/2016 Pino’s – Highland Park, NJ w/ Black Wine, Secretary Legs


As We Descend Track Listing:
1. The Meeting
2. To The Signal
3. Lonely The Converted Mind
4. My Weight Disappearing
5. Healer Revealing
6. Sea Of Light