RAT KING: Seattle Deathgrind Trio To Release Psychotic Reality Full-Length September 29th Via Satanik Royalty Records; New Track Now Playing At Metal Injection + Preorders Available

Photo by J Donovan Malley

Seattle deathgrind trio RAT KING will release their Psychotic Reality full-length September 29th via Satanik Royalty Records, today unveiling the record’s first single and preorders!

Depending on who you ask, the term “rat king” has different meanings: One describes a group of literal rats, who meet their death after getting their tails knotted together on a sticky piece of trash, their bodies doomed to rot together in the trash for all eternity like a crown of rodent corpses. The others are metaphorical, used to describe a person who gains success by using others: Martin Luther once used this term to describe the Pope, calling him “the king of rats right at the top.” Either way, it’s a fitting concept for our current world where trash, greed, corruption, and toxicity are abundant, and where we’re all doomed to die together, no matter how we feel about our surroundings or each other. These are also all things Seattle deathgrind outfit RAT KING sing about on their third LP, Psychotic Reality.

Through blast beats and filthy, lightning-fast riffs, Psychotic Reality paints a picture of the truth we all faced in isolation when the media we consumed became our only means of connection: The darker you feel, the darker things you attract into your life – particularly when social media’s sinister algorithms are watching your every move, serving you more and more of what you consume regardless of the negativity, and your every thought can go out to the world in a matter of seconds. The album offers splenetic catharsis from that darkness, in the form of tracks like “Tortured Existence,” which deals with themes of escape, and “Corrupt Broken System,” which recounts the dehumanization of capitalist society.

“Our reality as a human race has been one of cruelty, vitriol, and chaos,” the band notes. “All the horror that surrounds us creates a reality that we as individuals are force fed to consume. This nine-track album explores our existence with themes of corruption, isolation, suicide, bigotry, and war.”

On their first single “Destroyer Of Us All,” now playing at Metal Injection, RAT KING describes one way to cope with the current reality: to escape into a psychedelic state, allowing your mind to eviscerate your ego and wash away the dark, technology-induced psychosis.

“Musically, this song represents every aspect of RAT KING’s songwriting. From death to grind to groove. We feel this song captures what we want to create musically. Lyrically, the song talks about the self being dissolved of ego by consuming and learning from psychedelics.”

Add Metal Injection, “A solid mix of grinding death metal and crustier tendencies, “Destroyer Of Us All” is going to fuck you up big time.”

Stream RAT KING’s “Destroyer Of Us All” at Metal Injection HERE.

Psychotic Reality was recorded at Soundhouse Studios in Ballard, Seattle, produced by the band, and mixed by Taylor Young at The Pit Recording Studio. The album will be released on limited LP, cassette, and digitally.

Find physical preorders the Satanik Royalty Records webshop HERE and digital orders at Bandcamp HERE.

RAT KING formed in 2013 when brothers Danny Racines (bass, vocals) and Ricky Racines (guitar, backup vocals) met Carlos Delgado (drums) and bonded over their mutual love of bands like Sepultura, Death, Nasum, and Brujeria, as well as a shared Latin heritage: The Racines brothers are Ecuadorian, while Delgado is Nicaraguan. Together they found a home in the supportive Seattle scene, where heavy riffs of all varieties and tempos are celebrated side by side under a dark, perpetually overcast sky. After three full-length albums and two EPs, the three members are at the height of their songwriting ability and passion for the project, eager to bring this record into the world.

Psychotic Reality Track Listing:

    1. Tortured Existence
    2. Destroyer Of Us All
    3. Vermin
    4. Corrupt Broken System
    5. Feeding Off Broken Backs
    6. Intrinsic Self Devourment
    7. Labyrinth
    8. Born To Conform
    9. Never Born

Danny Racines – bass, vocals
Ricky Racines – guitar, backup vocals
Carlos Delgado – drums