ORBITER: Florida Post-Metal/Rock Quartet To Release Head Wounds 12” EP Via Salvaged Records In November; Cover Art, Preorders, Video Teaser, And More Issued

photos by Jeremy McGuire

Florida post-metal/rock quartet ORBITER will release their latest recordings in the form of the Head Wounds EP through Salvaged Records in November, today issuing its cover art, track listing, preorders, and a brief teaser.

A group of longtime Gainesville music lifers who have collectively contributed to the city and region’s scene for many years, ORBITER’s sound is both reflective of its surroundings and of prior decades and eras of rock, yet boasts a hook-laden, current vibrancy. Vocalist/guitarist Jon Reinertsen also plays drums in Whiskey & Co. and has formerly drummed for Rose Cross, Towers of Hanoi, The Takers, and many other punk and hardcore bands. Lead guitarist Matt Walker has played guitar in Human Parts alongside members of Against Me! and Whiskey & Co. and is the published author of the book Gainesville Punk: A History Of Bands. Bassist Jonathan Hamilton played guitar in Escape Grace, and Cutman with members of Gunmoll and Unitas. Drummer Brad Purvis plays drums in Averkiou, and has previously played in Moonbeard, Supertwin, and the band I Love You with members of Dove.

ORBITER released their Slow Revolution debut EP in 2014 – originally recorded under their prior moniker The Yams. In 2019, under the new banner, they released their debut LP, Southern Failures, which properly solidified their sound and place in the local scene. Having marinated this established sound over several years, the quartet honed their craft into their most cohesive and hook-laden work yet on their newest offering, Head Wounds.

Engineered, mixed, and mastered by Jonathan Nuñez (Torche, Jacuzzi Boys, Axis) at Sound Artillery Studios in Miami, ORBITER’s Head Wounds is overflowing with heavy riffs – purposeful ones that aren’t heavy just for the sake of it – which are artfully complimented by Reinertsen’s soaring, sung vocals which can’t help but stay with you from the first listen. And the rhythm section is a straight-up hammer; the whole record feels like a relentless pulse, gnarly and gritty guitar and bass tones that for this listener are evocative of bands like Fu Manchu and Kyuss, but with a combo of head-nodding heaviness and melody (similarly to how Page Hamilton was able to coax melodies from chord arrangements where they weren’t obvious) that makes for something beyond catchy. Even though this four-song clocks in at nearly twenty-two minutes, you’re left wanting more when it stops spinning. The heavily personal subject matter elevates this from a listening to an experience. Heartfelt and heavy, this one is a gem.

Watch a brief teaser for ORBITER’s Head Wounds RIGHT HERE.

Salvaged Records, formed by members of Machinist!, will release ORBITER’s Head Wounds on black vinyl in a run of 300 copies and digitally on November 11th. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE.

Watch for official audio previews, videos, and more to drop preceding the release of Head Wounds.

Head Wounds Track Listing:
1. Headwounds
2. Eyes Like Clouds
3. Hellmates
4. Transmissions

ORBITER is booking live performances for the months ahead, having already been confirmed to play at the massive annual The Fest in their hometown October 28th, 29th, and 30th, the massive roster of bands playing multiple venues over three days including Hot Water Music, The Menzingers, Anti Flag, Bouncing Souls, Piebald, Samiam, The Flatliners, Avail, Against All Authority, The Suicide Machines, Cursive, and many others. Watch for additional shows to be announced shortly.

10/28-30/2022 The Fest 20 – Gainesville, FL [info]

Jon Reinertsen – vocals/guitar
Matt Walker – lead guitar
Jonathan Hamilton – bass
Brad Purvis – drums