JOHNO LEEROY: Debut Solo Album By Denver Country Artist Sees Release Through Anti-Corporate Music’s The Magnolia Sessions; The Sleeping Shaman Premieres “Bass Boat”

photos by Zachariah Orbin

Anti-Corporate Music presents the third title in their acclaimed new singer/songwriter series, The Magnolia Sessions, releasing a new performance by Denver, Colorado-based country/folk artist JOHNO LEEROY. As the album sees digital release today, The Sleeping Shaman is hosting an exclusive stream of “Bass Boat.”

The Magnolia Sessions is a special new series which launched in early September 2020 with an album by Matt Heckler, followed in early October by an album from Jason Dea West. Both albums instantly caught the attention of the scene’s passionate fans and charted on the Billboard Bluegrass Charts. The series showcases bluegrass, dark country, and folk singer/songwriter acts in an intimate outdoor setting at the Anti-Corporate Music/Black Matter Mastering headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee. Each installment features a different artist, some with additional guest musicians, who performs a live album of sorts, recorded outdoors by a large magnolia tree, as originally seen in Lost Dog Street Band’s “September Doves” video for GemsOnVHS several years ago.

Writes Anti-Corporate Music and Black Matter Mastering’s Dan Emery who engineers The Magnolia Sessions, “JOHNO had one of the most effortless sessions. He was very much in his element. These sessions have a tendency to be quite intimidating for some artists. The weather can work against you and the bugs can eat you alive. JOHNO did not have any of those problems.”

JOHNO LEEROY calls the session, “An intimate musical window into my personal life. All my songs are pretty much about my own downfalls and triumphs. I use songwriting as an escape as well as therapy. People want to see the train wreck. They don’t want to watch you cruise around in a Prius. I would consider it not so traditional American songwriting.”

The Sleeping Shaman writes, “Since its arrival a few months back, we here at The Shaman have been huge fans of the country, folk and bluegrass series The Magnolia Sessions. Kicking off with Matt Heckler in September, and more recently Jason Dea West, both reviewed by Rob on these hallowed pages, today Anti-Corporate Music release the third installment, and his first solo album, with the stripped back and raw country/folk of JOHNO LEEROY.”

Stream JOHNO LEEROY’s The Magnolia Sessions song “Bass Boat” early only at The Sleeping Shaman RIGHT HERE.

Purchase The Magnolia Sessions titles direct from Anti-Corporate Music’s webshop at THIS LOCATION.

JOHNO LEEROY – The Magnolia Sessions Track Listing:
1. Rest Easy
2. Bass Boat
3. Bent Poles
4. Weed Or Wine
5. Wild
6. Higher Ground
7. Growing Up In The South
8. Tired
9. Davidson County
10. Twig
11. Junebug

Watch for additional titles in the The Magnolia Sessions to post at the beginning of each month through the rest of the year.

JOHNO LEEROY was raised in bicentennial state Tennessee by his mother and older brother and started playing music and writing songs around the age of nine years old. Later in 2004, he would relocate to Colorado and end up in Denver. Having always taken a liking to traditional country songwriting influenced by Jimmy Rodgers, Hank Snow, Faron Young, and others. Having performed with acts around his new home over the past fifteen years, including well-known local country rock quintet Hang Rounders, The Magnolia Sessions recording marks his first solo album. JOHNO LEEROY is a poignant songwriter and storyteller who crafts stripped-down, deeply personal, wholly visceral, and honest American anthems.