HAURUN: California Heavy Psych Outfit To Host Online Listening Party TODAY; Wilting Within Debut To See Release Via Small Stone Recordings This Friday

Photo by Seydina Seck

Oakland, California-based heavy psych outfit HAURUN will release their debut full-length, Wilting Within, this Friday, September 22nd via Small Stone Recordings. In celebration of its release, today, Wednesday, September 20th, the band will host a special online listening party on Bandcamp at 7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT! Come along for the musical journey and chat with the band live!

Don’t miss it! RSVP at THIS LOCATION.  

HAURUN is the product of five musicians with a love of dark tones and psychedelia. Through the mysterious world of Craig’s List, guitarist Joel Panton and drummer Eliot Rennie began writing music in 2018 with shared influences of Black Sabbath, Earth, and Kyuss. After a long and challenging search to find the right musicians, they banded together with vocalist Lyra Cruz, guitarist Daniel Schwiderski, and bassist Joel Lacey to deliver a sound that’s heavy whilst deeply emotive.

Emerging from the cloud of the covid pandemic, HAURUN’s Wilting Within keeps to a theme of hypnotic riffs and emotionally captivating melodies; a journey through layers of slow burning verses and expansive choruses, infused with the enchanting power of Cruz’s vocals. HAURUN transcends genres, blending the hypnotic riffs of doom metal and the gritty essence of grunge to deliver a fresh sound, casting psychedelic spells on the listener.

Wilting Within was recorded and engineered with the mighty Phil Becker at El Studio in San Francisco, California who captured the intensity and melodic soundscape of HAURUN’s live performance. Eric Hoegemeyer at the Tree Laboratory in Brooklyn, New York) and Chris Goosman at Baseline Audio in Ann Arbor, Michigan worked their alchemical magic in mixing and mastering. The album cover art, design, and logo was created by Orion Landau (Yob, Russian Circles).

Wilting Within will be released on CD and digitally via Small Stone Recordings and on limited vinyl via Kozmik Artifactz. For preorders, visit THIS LOCATION.

Lyra Cruz – vocals
Joel Paul Lacey – bass
Daniel Schwiderski – guitar
Joel Panton – guitar
Eliot Rennie – drums