DISGUISED MALIGNANCE: Finnish Death Metallers Share New Video/Single, “Confined;” Entering The Gateways Debut Album To See Release This September Via Prosthetic Records

Photo by Eero Palmu

Finnish death metal outfit DISGUISED MALIGNANCE has today shared a new single and music video, “Confined,” from their forthcoming debut album, Entering The Gateways. The video clip for “Confined” captures the Helsinki group’s live intensity, alongside foreboding churchyard footage, in a nod to classic death metal music videos of the ‘90s. Entering The Gateways is due to be released on September 29th via Prosthetic Records.

Speaking on the single release, vocalist Felix Pennanen comments, “‘Confined’ is one of the most aggressive tracks on the album while maintaining an infectious sense of groove. The combination of sick riffage, ontological lyrics, and overall pulverizing aggression result in a prime example of the gloomy and unearthly yet catchy style of death metal that is Entering The Gateways.”

Bassist Aatos Palmu adds, “‘Confined’ displays the more fast-paced and vividly aggressive side of the album. We chose to pair it up with a music video to further enhance the experience with the grimy and disorienting visuals in the oldschool death metal spirit.”


Watch DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s “Confined” video HERE.

Listen to the band’s previously released single, “Malignant Visions,” HERE.

Entering The Gateways will be released on CD, LP, and digitally. For preorders, go to THIS LOCATION.

DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s formative years up until this point has seen the group operate primarily as a duo, with vocalist Felix Pennanen and bassist Aatos Palmu forming the band in 2021, and carefully constructing the band’s foundational sound of oldschool death metal sensibilities with a calculatedly modern view of technical songwriting embellishments. The young band’s dichotomous approach to the genre was evidenced in their early demo and 2023 promo tapes respectively, before Pennanen and Palmu found themselves with growing ambitions for the band.

Commencing writing and recording in 2022 with their core pairing, DISGUISED MALGINANCE displays a musical chemistry far beyond their years on Entering The Gateways. Frenzied passages careen and jolt forward with a menacing intent, while swarming tremolos and a dexterous rhythmic backbone bring to mind greats such as Demilich and Crytopsy. Written specifically with a solidified quintet in mind, Entering The Gateways ushers DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s more textured passages into the fold — look no further than “Disengagement Into Eternity” or “Remnants Of Serenity” — that invoke more modern death metal acts such as Tomb Mold and Blood Incantation.

Inspired heavily by Lovecraftian horror and armed with an esoterically eldritch unease at the simultaneously unknown and unknowable, Entering The Gateways oscillates between the physical and the otherworldly throughout its thirty-four minute runtime. DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s ambitions to take death metal’s elemental parts and impart their own verve and voice into the genre are plain to see on their first full-length, and it’s a testament to their natural talents that Entering The Gateways stands as a bold introduction to the band.

Entering The Gateways Track Listing:

  1. Gates To Nihil
  2. Confined
  3. Unearthly Extinction
  4. The Fading Path Of Existence
  5. Malignant Visions
  6. Remanants Of Serenity
  7. Disengagement Into Eternity
  8. Beyond (Entering The Gateways)

Felix Pennanen – vocals
Aatos Palmu – bass
Daniel Gamache – guitar
Tuure Suomalainen – guitar
Juuso Hämäläinen – drums