DERKÉTA: Classic Doom/Death Collective To Reissue In Death We Meet Full-Length Via Ibex Moon; Record Features Updated Mix By Grave’s Ola Lindgren + Bonus Tracks

Pittsburgh-based cult doom/death collective, DERKÉTA – featuring alumni from Novembers Doom, Penance, Demonomacy, Cattle Decapitation and more — will reissue their soul-swallowing In Death We Meet full-length via Ibex Moon later this month.

Crowned, “fucking MASSIVE,” and, “ungodly heavy death/doom from a cadre of ladies who were cracking skulls and tuning low while most of us were still in diapers,” by MetalSucks, and listed among comedian Don Jamieson’s (That Metal Show) top five of 2012 metal list in Revolver, In Death We Meet was initially mixed and mastered by Rickey Budway and released independently in 2012. Remixed by Grave’s Ola Lindgren at Studio Soulless, In Death We Meet redux includes bonus track, “Darkness Fades Life,” a cover of Sepultura’s “Troops Of Doom,” (both recorded and mixed by Matt Schor at The War Room) and thrusts forth a sound that sits at the very apex of devouring, coffin-toned grimness. “This is by far the heaviest sounding recording that DERKÉTA has ever done,” the band asserts. “The sound is massive, the harmonies and drum tones are enhanced… it’s absolutely crushing.”

In Death We Meet will reemerge on CD via Ibex Moon Records June 16th, 2015 with a wax edition featuring four additional live tracks to surface November 6th, 2015. Devout followers of Winter, early-era My Dying Bride and Paradise Lost and true old school brutality, pay heed.

In Death We Meet Track Listing:
1. Goddess Of Death
2. Obscurities Of Darkness
3. Rest In Peace
4. Until Our Death
5. Shadows Of The Past
6. Last Rites
7. Witchburned
8. In Death We Meet
9. Darkness Fades Life (Bonus)
10. Troops Of Doom (Sepultura Cover)
Live Tracks (LP Only):
11. Shadows Of The Past
12. Obscurities Of Darkness
13. Witchburned

14. Time Of Awakening

DERKÉTA – a named derived from Stygian Mythology: the goddess of death of a blood drinking cult — is a doom-influenced four-piece widely acknowledged as the first all-female death metal band. Forged in 1988 by guitarist/vocalist Sharon Bascovsky and drummer Terri Heggen, DERKÉTA spent the past two decades in varying degrees of activity, having released several demos throughout the years. In 2009, guitarist Mary Bielich (Behind Enemy Lines, Novembers Doom, Penance etc.) and bassist Robin Mazen (Castrators, Gruesome, ex-Demonomacy etc.) joined the lineup and began working on what would become their debut full-length, In Death We Meet. Following its recording, Heggen fled the band to pursue other interests and was replaced by Mike Laughlin (Creation Is Crucifixion, Cattle Decapitation) making for their most stable and active lineup to date. Fueled by a desire to stay true to themselves, DERKÉTA‘s musical principles are cemented in the spirit of death metal’s early years and as such will never fall to the temptation of popular trends.

“…doom/death at its best…” – The Metal Crypt

“…its darkness and murkiness give it an almost black-metal-like sense of atmosphere… The slow and grinding heaviness brings it closer to doom than anything else, no matter how many blade-sharp, glittering eruptions it has. Combine the album with the 2003 collection, Goddess Of Death, and you’ll have a solid primer on this underappreciated representative of a razor-edged, broken-machine, rust-belt sound.” – Chicago Reader

“[DERKÉTA] have awakened from the cold embrace of their premature burial once more, and seem stronger than ever” – MetalBandCamp

“This album is all about old school brutality and a never say die attitude.” – Metal Nightmare

Preorders for In Death We Meet are currently available at THIS LOCATION.