CHERUBS: Austin Cult Noise Rock Trio To Release New Full-length Immaculada High July 26th Via Relapse Records; “Sooey Pig” Now Streaming

photo by Jason Meade

Rightfully hailed as “the noisiest pop music on the planet” by Pitchfork, Texas-based cult noise rock trio CHERUBS have been purveyors of sonic bedlam since their inception in 1991. After an unforeseen return to the scene from a two-decade hiatus in 2014, the CHERUBS have now joined forces with the equally revered Relapse Records for the release of their fifth full-length Immaculada High.

Recorded and engineered by Erik Wofford (Explosions In The Sky, The Black Angels, My Morning Jacket) at Cacophony Studio in their hometown of Austin with art by Connor Claver, Dayan D’aniello, and the band’s own Kevin Whitley, Immaculada High is eleven tracks of signature CHERUBS clamor with an added twist of Texas-sized, psychedelic racket. Smooth, rumbling, low-end rhythms interplay with feedback drenched, chugging guitars, relentless tone and vocalist Kevin Whitley’s shrill, life-of-the-LSD-party vocals. On Immaculada High, CHERUBS loudly proclaim their title as bonafide noise rock legends who continue to forge transgressive yet remarkably accessible punk for a jaded world.

Comments the band of Immaculada High, “This recording feels like the soundtrack to a movie about Mother Nature exacting dark revenge on the nasty homo sapiens. There’s tigers and pigs and wolves crying out of eyes – oh my.”

Listen to the new track, “Sooey Pig,” below and all streaming services

Immaculada High will be released on July 26th on CD, LP, and digital formats via Relapse Records. Physical packages are available for preorder via HERE. Digital downloads and streaming services are available HERE.

Immaculada High Track Listing:
1. Turista
2. 18 The Number
3. Sooey Pig
4. Tigers In The Sky
6. Old Lady Shoe
7. Breath U Can C
8. Cry Real Wolves
9. Pacemaker
10. Full Regalia
11. Nobodies

CHERUBS will perform a handful of shows in the coming weeks with additional dates to be announced soon.

CHERUBS Tour Dates:
5/24/2019 Dada Dallas – Dallas, TX
5/ 25/2019 The Lost Well – Austin, TX
7/13/2019 Saint Vitus Bar – Brooklyn, NY w/ Low Dose
7/14/2019 Kung Fu Necktie – Philadelphia, PA w/ Low Dose

Kevin Whitley – guitar, vocals
Owen McMahon – bass, vocals
Brent Prager – drums