WALKING BOMBS: Alternative/Anti-Punk Act To Release Collaborator-Stacked Spiritual Dreams Above Empty Promises Album In April; “Adulation” Single Streaming + Preorders Posted

WALKING BOMBS, the alternative rock/anti-punk act created by Morgan Y. Evans, presents Spiritual Dreams Above Empty Promises – the first of several new records to be released in 2023 – today issuing its art, track listing, list of collaborators, and lead single, “Adulation.”

Spiritual Dreams Above Empty Promises is an album about trying not to lose hope and to remain centered despite the world’s sorrows and perils. It was written following the passing of Evans’ mother and deals with topics ranging from mortality, spirituality, individuality, gun violence, love, cynicism, freedom of choice, spectator apathy during conflict or bullying, overcoming doubt, and even being startled awake by technology. It is for people trying to remember that cynicism is not as powerful as our deeper hopes, dreams, and empathy.

Spiritual Dreams Above Empty Promises was recorded before Evans’ recent move to Southern California. The record, along with a corresponding sister album, was created in Rhinebeck, New York during the majority of 2022 at engineer and multi-instrumentalist Ash Umhey’s forested studio Orange Sound, engineered, recorded, and mixed by Umhey. It’s a reconnecting of sorts between old friends after years of growing up and participating in the late-90s/early-00s fertile Hudson Valley alternative music scene together.

Evans played more instruments than ever, with a large contribution of material from Umhey, drummer Justin Zipperle (Shadow Witch), Elizabeth Gomez Dapena (Globelamp, ex-Foxygen), and cameos from many other friends, including members/alumni of The Chrome Cranks, The Stabbing Jabs, The Alchemy Unit, Prince Rama, The Natural Lines, Matt Pond PA, Meowtain, Gridfailure, Talon, 5rvln5, Kore Rozzik Band, and more, largely recorded at the collaborators’ respective home studios. Septa’s Eugene Tymchyk even sent a spoken word contribution from amidst war-torn Ukraine. The symbolic cover art was created by NYC visual designer Julia Popescu.

“This record is one of two corresponding records that coincide with 2023 being my 30th year in active musical bands,” says Evans. “It was important to me to delve into and honor a sense of surrender to having faith in a musical path, a sense of unwavering hope amidst darkness and an homage to many forms of rock. You can hear many years of my musical development and influences on here from Pixies to Helmet and Nirvana to experimental indie to Biohazard to noise punk to more classic rock. And, of course, some trombone.”

The first single from Spiritual Dreams Above Empty Promises, “Adulation,” is now playing at Bandcamp where preorders are now available RIGHT HERE.

Spiritual Dreams Above Empty Promises will be released digitally on April 7th. Stand by for additional audio previews, official videos, and more from the record to post over the weeks ahead.

Spiritual Dreams Above Empty Promises Track Listing:
1. A Room Full Of Killers
2. Reach For The Light
3. Obscure Apostle
4. Adulation
5. Gullible
6. Spiritual Dreams Above Empty Promises
7. Kettle Corn Bedbugs
8. Cynical View
9. Blue Fang
10. The War Spectators
11. Shadow Mouth Says
12. HumanInanity (Redux)