WALKING BOMBS: Alternative/Anti-Punk Act Releases Once Lost Broken Provinces EP Via Bandcamp Featuring Mercury Rev Bassist; Multiple New Titles To See Release In 2023

Morgan Y. Evans and Chris Heitzman present, as the next release from the solo/collaborative WALKING BOMBS project, an EP called Broken Provinces.

Broken Provinces was originally intended to be the follow up to the defunct indie project Black & White Universe’s 2013 album Hummingbird, an utterly slept-on full-length indie rock/electro collab between Morgan Y. Evans and multi-instrumentalist Chris Heitzman. Unfortunately, a crashed hard drive and life upheaval scuttled the duo’s follow-up plans. In the years since, Evans focused on Walking Bombs as his primary musical outlet and Heitzman is now the bassist of the acclaimed alternative rock outfit Mercury Rev.

Fast forward to September 15th, 2022. Evans accidentally stumbled across a sole CD backup copy of Broken Provinces. Tears of joy were shed and now you all can hear this lost fruit of two overly restless minds.

With all vocals delivered by Morgan Y. Evans and all instruments/programming handled by Chris Heitzman, Broken Provinces was engineered in 2014 by Chris Heitzman at Bishop’s Castle Studio in Kingston, New York, then cleaned up and mastered by Ash Umhey in the Fall of 2022.

“It feels amazing to have these seven songs plucked from the ashes and finally public,” says Evans. “It was a heavy blow when we thought the material was lost as it sprung forth through an expressive fountain of creative bonding during a chaotic time almost ten years ago. We both pushed ourselves further as songwriters and it was very validating to have the Universe return these tunes to us long past hope was lost. Much love to Chris who was always a thrill to work with.”

Broken Provinces is now being released as a WALKING BOMBS collaboration, since the material is rather different than the original Black & White Universe record, steering into more devilishly stompy, mischievously playful or folky storytelling pastures while still having an odd Depeche Mode worshipping detour or two. Fans of Against Me!, The Decemberists, Of Monsters and Men, or Titus Andronicus will likely find some kindred intentions here.

While sadly, many of the social issues sung about on some of these tracks have only gotten worse in the years since the record was recorded. All the same, the artists are happy to have this EP see the light of day and hope it lifts some spirits.

WALKING BOMBS Broken Provinces is out today on all streaming platforms including Bandcamp RIGHT HERE.

WALKING BOMBS is currently immersed in the recording of multiple new albums and other releases which will see release throughout 2023. Watch for updates to post early in the new year.

Broken Provinces Track Listing:
1. What The Crow Told The Tree
2. Famine and Fame
3. Bread and Circuses (A Dreadful Disharmony)
4. Harm Reduction and The Holy Grail
5. HOUSEheart
6. We Live In This Communication
7. The Washerwoman and The Drowning Boy