VASTUM: Cult San Francisco Death Metal Horde To Release Third LP, Hole Below, Via 20 Buck Spin This Fall


Through the verbose horror of their first two LPs — 2011’s Carnal Law and 2013’s Patricidal Lust — San Francisco’s VASTUM sadistically carved a jagged dripping wound into an increasingly reductive American death metal scene. One of the most lyrically unique, creative and disturbing bands in underground metal, now arising for their third full length album, VASTUM plumbs the depths of internalized agony and degradation farther than ever on Hole Below.

Characterized by a deeply cavernous trudge through gut churning heaviness, Hole Below both bluntly crushes and rigorously shreds to conceive fully formed grotesqueries of debased brutality. Guitarist Leila Abdul-Rauf wields her axe with the experienced slice of masked executioner quartering savage riffs and twisting leads alongside the thunder of guitarist Shelby Lermo. The abhorrent vocal (and lyrical) morbidity traded by imposing frontman Daniel Butler and Abdul-Rauf continues to be the most formidable combination in death metal. The intimidating rhythm section of bassist Luca Indrio and drummer Adam Perry steer the war machine through the pooled blood and skull fragments scattered amidst the debauched iniquity of this peculiar hell.

Three albums in, VASTUM has honed their disturbed masochism into a sound manifestly their own and true to the core of the purest darkest death metal. Crushingly recordead at Earhammer Studios in Oakland and mastered at Audiosiege by Brad Boatright, the art for Hole Below was created by vocalist Daniel Butler. 20 Buck Spin — also responsible for the release of the band’s prior two albums — presents Hole Below as one of the finest, best executed examples of the genre this year.

Hole Below will emerge on CD and digital formats on November 6th, the LP to follow in December. Fans of Bolt Thrower, Grave, Death, Asphyx, Shroud Of The Heretic, Cruciamentum and the like are hereby on notice.

VASTUM will strike with new tour dates in support of Hole Below, including the band’s debut East Coast performances which are being slabbed for early November. Stand by for tour specifics in the coming days.


Hole Below Track Listing:
1. Sodomitic Malevolence
2. Amniosis
3. In Sickness And In Death
4. Intrusions
5. Hole Below (A Dream Of Ritual Abuse)
6. Empty Breast

Daniel Butler – vocals
Leila Abdul-Rauf – guitars/vocals
Shelby Lermo – guitars
Luca Indrio – bass
Adam Perry – drums