TROG: New Jersey Death Metal Crew Formed By Members Of Reeking Aura And Sentient Horror To Release Horrors Beyond Debut Album On June 28th; “Ritual Corpse Division” Lyric Video + Preorders Posted

photos by Cultivision

New Jersey death metal crew TROG will release their slamming debut LP, Horrors Beyond, on June 28th, today unveiling the cover art, track listing, preorders, and the lead single, “Ritual Corpse Division,” including a 3D animated video for the song.

Originally formed in 2019 under the longer moniker, Troglorot, TROG’s current lineup was solidified in late 2021 when guitarist TJ Coon (Sentient Horror) joined the ranks alongside drummer Hudson Barth (Reeking Aura), guitarist/bassist Dan Erdenberger (ex-Cypher Seer), and vocalist Pete Colucci (Apocrophex, Gukurahundi). The band independently released their first EP, Of Vomit Reborn, in July of 2022 to great acclaim, including year-end lists, video reaction from The Needle Drop Reviews, and Metal Injection, who wrote in part, “The EP covers everything from straightforward and groovy death metal, to more Death-esque harmonies that wouldn’t be out of place on a Phobophilic effort.”

Two years later, TROG has set the bar even higher with their debut full-length, Horrors Beyond. The album expands upon the groove-oriented blend of twisted death metal and relentless thrash displayed on Of Vomit Reborn, seeing the band double down on neck-breaking riffage while incorporating flourishes of icy black metal melody. The thirty-four-minute runtime of Horrors Beyond spans seven otherworldly tracks, ranging lyrically from interdimensional organ trafficking to the methodical obliteration of advanced ancient civilizations, and features guest vocals on “The Void” by William Smith (Afterbirth, Reeking Aura) and a guitar solo on “Interstellar Offal Dealer” by Kurtis Layne (Castrator-live).

Horrors Beyond was entirely engineered and mixed by drummer Hudson Barth, mastered by the legendary Colin Marston at Menegroth, The Thousand Caves in Queens, NYC (Gorguts, Artificial Brain, Imperial Triumphant), and features profoundly grotesque artwork from emerging Canadian visual artist Emile Roy and photography by Colin Tunney.

The twisted animated 3D lyric video for the lead Horrors Beyond single, “Ritual Corpse Division,” was created by Andrea Mantelli Productions.

The TROG crew issues, “This song is about performing a soul replacement ritual during which the live subject is surgically severed and sliced along precise energy points on the body. The intact soul is then coaxed out of the wounds, harvested, and relocated to another plane of consciousness. Musically, we feel this song is a solid representation of our strengths as a band, which is why we led off with it. It’s very thrashy, a bit technical, features some bright guitar harmonies, and incorporates our favorite elements of modern metal into a more old-school death metal framework. We are so excited to finally unveil this song/album to the world and are super stoked about how well this video brings Emile Roy’s incredible artwork to life!”

Watch TROG’s “Ritual Corpse Division” lyric video now playing RIGHT HERE and stream the song at Bandcamp HERE.

Horrors Beyond will be independently released on CD and digital on June 28th, and on cassette through Frozen Screams Imprint. Find preorders HERE.

Horrors Beyond Track Listing:
1. Deluge Of Skulls
2. Horrors Beyond
3. The Void
4. Ritual Corpse Division
5. Eviscerate The Advanced
6. Interstellar Offal Dealer
7. Ontological Shock

Additional videos and more will drop over the weeks ahead surrounding the release of Horrors Beyond.

Pete Colucci – vocals
TJ Coon – Guitars
Dan Erdenberger – guitars, bass
Hudson Barth – drums, backing vocals, synths