THIS WHITE LIGHT: New Band Featuring Members Of Sunn O))), Engine Kid, Pelican, And Tattle Tale Premieres Song Through Brooklyn Vegan

[photo by Ripping Corpse]

THIS WHITE LIGHT is the name of a new band featuring guitarist Greg Anderson (Sunn O))), Goatsnake), drummer Jade Devitt (Lucky Me, Gale Forces), bassist Bryan Herweg (Pelican), and vocalist Jen Wood, solo artist, and formerly of Tattle Tale and collaborator with the Postal Service.

The four-piece has been working on material and plans to record April 9th through13th with Josh Homme at his Pink Duck Studios.

One of the band’s early demo tracks, “Winter Flowers,” has been issued through a premiere at Brooklyn Vegan who offers in part, “With instrumentalists that have a metal/hardcore pedigree and a singer from a more indie rock background, you might be wondering how it all comes together, and well, basically everyone plays to their individual strengths. We’re premiering the band’s demo for ‘Winter Flowers,’ which is part sludge metal, part post-rock, and Jen Wood’s crystal-clear vocals leading the way. This should appeal to metal and indie fans alike, or just anyone who likes well-executed underground rock music.”

Stream THIS WHITE LIGHT’s “Winter Flowers” at Brooklyn Vegan HERE.

In March 2017, Greg Anderson and Jade Devitt began to make music with one another again, having previously played together in the nineties with Engine Kid. Starting with the formula of extreme dynamics that they had perfected in the years previous as Engine Kid, the pair have added their more-than-twenty-years of musical experience and taken the music in a new and different direction. Chance encounters and serendipitous moments fortified the final line up of THIS WHITE LIGHT with the addition of Bryan Herweg and Jen Wood.

THIS WHITE LIGHT explore the contrast of darkness and light. Their music is delicate when called for, powerful when necessary.

Watch for updates on THIS WHITE LIGHT in the months ahead.

Jen Wood – vocals
Greg Anderson – guitar
Bryan Herweg – bass
Jade Devitt – drums