THEYRGY: CVLT Nation Premieres Exit Strategies Debut By Chicago Post-Punk Act With Members Of Yakuza And More; EP Sees Release This Friday Through Dead Sage

photo by Okbritknee

This Friday, Chicago-based post-punk quartet THEYRGY will release their Exit Strategies debut through their newly formed Dead Sage imprint. Ahead of its official unveiling, CVLT Nation is now hosting an exclusive stream of the EP.

Recorded by the band’s John E. Bomher at Horse-Drawn Productions, Exit Strategies was produced and mixed by THEYRGY – besides “Hiding Your Face In The Wall” which was mixed by Sanford Parker (Voivod, Yob, Indian) at Hybercube, and the record was mastered by Josh Bonati at Bonati Mastering. Kathleen Keane (Drovers, Gaelic Storm) is a guest contributor on the track “Dreamcatcher,” and the record is completed with cover art by Mirek Iskra, layout and logo by Pono Design Studio, and photos by Okbritknee.

“It is our duty to question authority, forever, THEYRGYwrites. “Why not draw the lens within and begin there? Aren’t we imagining everything into existence while simultaneously denouncing that this is exactly what we’re doing? So much experience muted inside a mind that interprets the world mechanically. Our phone announces a notification and how many thoughts go unnoticed in a day? We want better dreams with you; waking and sleeping. In friendship, we offer these songs as a meeting ground where changing the narrative changes the omens. The world ends and begins every day. The day stays still, and we go by. We rarely arrive, but we can try.”

CVLT Nation notes with the early stream of the EP, “they explore a fascinating soundscape of electronics, post-punk and post-rock that weave in tandem across each of their songs.”

Stream THEYRGY’s Exit Strategies EP at CVLT Nation RIGHT HERE.

THEYRGY will release Exit Strategies through their Dead Sage label this Friday, August 21st on digital platforms, as well as a limited run of CDs, which features an unconventional and reimagined cover of “Sanity” by Bad Religion.

Find preorders and more at Bandcamp HERE.

THEYRGY was formed in February 2018 by John Doyle (I Decline,13 Flowers), John E. Bomher (Yakuza, Iklatus), Michael Fabiano, and Tony Hooper. Drawing inspiration from post-punk, industrial, and shoegaze artists, the band’s music aims to radiate light from within the dark spaces resonating inside and outside the listener. One improvisational session led to the backbone of THEYRGY‘s Exit Strategies, after which the initial bursts of ideas were then refined and edited over time until they became fully realized songs.

Watch for updates on the upcoming THEYRGY performance video set and more to post in the days ahead.