THEOCRACY: New Album, Mosaic, Out Today On Atomic Fire Records; Lyric Video For “Flicker” Now Playing

Photo by Ron Carson Jr.

After seven years of musical silence, US progressive power metal quintet THEOCRACY has risen to release their latest full-length, Mosaic, out today on Atomic Fire Records! To commemorate the record’s official release, the band is pleased to unveil a lyric video for the track “Flicker,” crafted by Ingo Spörl at Hard Media (

Lead vocalist Matt Smith comments, “‘Flicker’ was one of the first tracks written for the Mosaic album. A fish-out-of-water tale of brutal honesty, the lyrics are a bit more straightforward and candid than usual from me, but that’s what felt most authentic in the moment. Musically, it’s aggressive, melodic, and fast, and sits somewhere slightly different for us, I think. It seemed like an obvious choice for the opening track of the record.”

Watch THEOCRACY’s lyric video for “Flicker” at THIS LOCATION.

Watch the band’s previously released video for “Mosaic” HERE and “Return To Dust” HERE

The ten new hymns comprising Mosaic were recorded, produced, and mixed by THEOCRACY‘s own Matt Smith at Theocracized Studios and Full Moon Studios in Athens, Georgia and rounded out by the skillful mastering engineers Emily Lazar and Chris Allgood at The Lodge in New York City. The album title is brilliantly showcased by its stained-glass window-like artwork by Steven Howard.

Mosaic is available on digipak CD (EU), jewel case CD (US), vinyl on three color variants (Orange/Black Marbled, Transparent/Blue, and Crystal Clear/Black High Melt), and digital formats.

Purchase the album in the physical format of your choice, stream it, or get digitally now, at:

Subscribe to Atomic Fire Records on YouTube HERE. Listen to “Flicker” as well as other new tracks in the AFR New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.

THEOCRACY will be celebrating the release of Mosaic with fans today in Betzdorf, Germany at Loud And Proud Festival.

10/13/2023 Loud And Proud Festival – Betzdorf, DE

For more than twenty years, Matt Smith has been pouring his life blood into THEOCRACY, creating a legacy and back catalog that grants him a space to breathe and develop his vision. Formed in 2002 to spread their majestic metal in the likes of Stratovarious, Sonata Arctica, and Symphony X, THEOCRACY released four critically acclaimed studio albums, building a loyal fanbase as well. Now teaming up with Atomic Fire Records, the band are more than ready to take THEOCRACY to the next level.

THEOCRACY never lack grit. Their riffs are heavy and there are plenty of dark, progressive moments on Mosaic, but the overall effect is of an unstoppable tsunami of bright-eyed positivity: heavy on big, rousing melodies and as lavish, multi-layered and grandiose as Blind Guardian.” – Blabbermouth

“Suffice to say, the long wait has proven to be more than worth it for THEOCRACY fans, as Mosaic is arguably the band’s best work to date, so much so that I’d even go as far as to consider it the band’s magnum opus, at least at this point in their career.” – My Global Mind

“If you’re looking for an epic, complex but still catchy power metal record full of superb melodies und beautifully dramatic arcs of suspense, there’s no way around Mosaic and THEOCRACY’s discography in general.” – Earshot

“Matt Smith and THEOCRACY used those seven long years to deliver an album that is incredible and easily stands at the top of their catalog, offering something for even the most disinterested listener to enjoy and appreciate.” – Lots Of Muzik

“…it’s better than Ghost Ship with several Song o’ the Year contenders that will make you a believer.” – Angry Metal Guy

“…a really strong album that demonstrates THEOCRACY‘s skill in both progressive and power metal, with some thrash thrown in for good measure. The band has clearly put a tremendous amount of work into this release and it’s paid off big time.” Metal Underground

“…a solid and well-crafted recording of their signature, guitar-driven, progressive power metal. Perhaps their best album to date. Quite recommended.” – Danger Dog Music

“It’s possible to write a masterpiece, but five in a row is a thing that doesn’t happen very often: Matt Smith accomplishes this feat masterfully!” – Rockportaal

Matt Smith – lead, backing vocals
Jonathan Hinds – guitars, backing vocals
Taylor Washington – guitars, backing vocals
Jared Oldham – bass, backing vocals
Ernie Topran – drums