THE TROOPS OF DOOM: Metal Injection Premieres The Absence Of Light From Brazilian Death Metal Squad Featuring Sepultura Alumnus; EP To See Release This Friday Via Blood Blast

“The EP might set your speakers on fire, so watch out.” – Metal Injection

Metal Injection is currently streaming The Absence Of Light, the latest EP from Brazilian death metal squad THE TROOPS OF DOOM. The premiere comes on the eve of the EP’s official release Friday, September 17th.

Made up of guitarist Jairo “Tormentor” Guedz, a former member of Sepultura’s original lineup playing author and co-author to classic Sep albums Bestial Devastation and Morbid Visions, alongside bassist/vocalist Alex Kafer (Enterro, Explicit Hate, ex-Necromancer), drummer Alexandre Oliveira (Southern Blacklist, Raising Conviction), and guitarist Marcelo Vasco (Patria, Mysteriis, acclaimed graphic artist for the likes of Slayer, Kreator, Machine Head, Soulfly, and Hatebreed), THE TROOPS OF DOOM revisits the essence of ’80s-style death metal, exploring a more primitive sound that takes listeners back to that era, while remaining fresh, genuine, and ferociously heavy.

The Absence Of Light EP is a loosely conceptual work inspired by the book Leviathan, from 17th century English philosopher Thomas Hobbes. Elaborates Guedz, “I had finished reading Hobbes’ The Leviathan and thought, ‘This is it! We have a concept for this EP.’ I’m very interested in the subject of how politics and religion determine people’s future and especially the power they accumulate when the two merge into a single form of government…”

Read more from Guedz and stream The Absence Of Light, exclusively at Metal Injection, at THIS LOCATION.

The Absence Of Light was mixed and mastered by Øystein G. Brun (Borknagar) at Crosound Studio in Norway. The EP features a guest vocal appearance by Possessed’s Jeff Becerra on the track “The Monarch” as well as Lars Nedland of Borknagar, Solefald, and White Void on bass on the first three tracks (“Introduction – The Absence Of Light,” “Act I – The Devil’s Tail,” and “Act II – The Monarch,”) and Dave Deville conducting the orchestral introduction. Additionally, the EP includes three bonus tracks: a version of Sepultura classic “Antichrist” mixed by Leonardo Pagani at LP Mobile Studio in Brazil and the demo versions of “The Devil’s Tail” and “The Monarch.” It all comes housed in the arresting cover art of Brazilian painter Maramgoni. With the world still uncertain in these pandemic times and the band being forced to postpone their European tour – and consequently their full album – to 2022, The Absence Of Light serves a bridge piece to the impending LP.

The Absence Of Light will be released digitally via Nuclear Blast digital subsidiary Blood Blast with preorders available at THIS LOCATION. The EP will be available on CD via Metalized Records in Mexico and the US HERE, Hellven Records in Europe HERE, and Voice Music in Brazil HERE. It will be released on vinyl via Hellven Records in Europe HERE and on cassette via Repulsive Echo Records in Europe HERE.

THE TROOPS OF DOOM released their debut EP, The Rise Of Heresy, worldwide in October 2020. Despite its brevity, the offering reaped critical accolades from fans and media alike with Decibel Magazine hailing the band’s distinctly, “mean, mid-paced death metal that cycles between foreboding and downright groovy,” adding, “when the grooves hit, it’s hard not to bang your head.” Bravewords lauded, “a demonic thrash attack with killer riffing and bombastic drum work,” while BrooklynVegan noted, “The band intentionally hearken back to the evil, thrashy, proto-death metal sounds of early Sepultura (and to Sepultura’s own influences from back then, like Celtic Frost), and [they] do it with extreme conviction.”

“…reassuringly brutal and bludgeoning…” – The Sleeping Shaman

“…like the songs on the last EP, it taps directly into that proto-death style that Guedz and Becerra were both architects of in a way that still sounds thrilling today.” – BrooklynVegan on “Act II – The Monarch”

“…raw aggression and blistering energy that’s all very well composed… so much so that this could have easily been on Schizophrenia back when Sepultura were conquering the world…” – The Metal Crypt on “Act I – The Devil’s Tail”

“…a brutal track, full of evil intent, underpinned by a battery of double kicks and a driving rhythm that allows Becerra to give full throttle. The demonic flavor is enhanced by the presence of Lars Nedland of Borknagar, who adds bass…” – The Razor’s Edge Rocks on “Act II – The Monarch”