THE RESISTANCE: Swedish Metal Troupe Featuring Former Members Of In Flames, The Haunted And Kaamos Join The Armoury Records Roster; Teaser Track Unveiled

Eagle Rock imprint Armoury Records, in conjunction with Hamburg, Germany-based earMUSIC, are p leased to announce the official signing of Swedish metal troupe, THE RESISTANCE. Featuring within its ranks some of Sweden’s most esteemed musicians, THE RESISTANCE includes In Flames’ founder (and main songwriter until his departure in 2010) Jesper Strömblad on guitar alongside second guitarist Glenn Ljungström (ex-In Flames), vocalist Marco Aro (ex-The Haunted, Facedown) and drummer Chris Barkensjö (ex-Kaamos, ex-Repugnant).

THE RESISTANCE will make its musical debut in the form of the four-track Rise From Treason EP, set for North American release on January 29, 2013 with a full length to follow later in the year. The EP will be released as a digital download and limited edition 7″ vinyl.

Sample teaser track “Slugger” below:

Far from a “supergroup” or “side project,” THE RESISTANCE is a veritable gang embracing the musical attitude and sounds of Swedish oldschool death metal and the traditional “no compromise” values of hardcore. Comments Strömblad: “We’re extremely happy that we have been given the opportunity to sign a worldwide recording deal with earMUSIC. Together we will spread our vision of Swedish old school death metal with a nice blend of hardcore energy. Watch out for our upcoming EP and album. This is gonna be some good violent fun!”