TAKE OFFENSE To Release Tensions On High EP Via Flatspot Records; No Echo Premieres Lead Track “Trust”

[photo by Veronika Reinert]

Southern California hardcore/metal outfit TAKE OFFENSE has completed their latest recording in the form of a new five-song EP, Tensions On High, setting the record for release through Flatspot Records on March 30th. The EP’s lead track, “Trust,” has been premiered at No Echo as the label issues preorders and more.

Following several records through Reaper Records and more, veteran Chula Vista skull-crushers TAKE OFFENSE return with another dose of concrete solid, blazing metallic hardcore. Established in 2004, TAKE OFFENSE could easily slide into the “established band” pattern of putting out a passable, if uninspired album every few years. Instead, spending the past five years touring, refining and dialing in the tracks on Tensions On High yields only the most prime, crucial outbursts the band has to offer.

Drawing from the ’80s hardcore pantheon, particularly the visionaries who pioneered hardcore and metal’s earliest alchemical experiments, citing Suicidal Tendencies, Agnostic Front, and DRI, TAKE OFFENSE pushes their sound to dizzying heights on Tensions On High, forging a sound that’s as familiar as it is fresh. Tensions On High was recorded at Jet To Mars Studios by Nick Jett (Terror), mixed and mastered at Casa Sonido by Nick Jett, and finished with cover art by Gera Vega with layout and design by Jose Gonzales.

With their debut of the “Trust” track, No Echo calls new record, “a five-track EP packed to the rim with delectable riffs…”

Check out TAKE OFFENSE’s “Trust” issues at No Echo RIGHT HERE.

Flatspot Records will release Tensions On High on cassette and digital platforms on March 30th; find preorder options HERE.

Tensions On High Track Listing:
1. Trust
2. Tensions On High
3. Unconditional
4. Ometeotl
5. Just Because You Believe

TAKE OFFENSE has booked several new upcoming shows and tour dates following the release of the Tensions On High. First up, the band will join Madball, Death Threat, Turnstile, Shark Attack, and many more at United Blood XII in Richmond, Virginia the weekend after the EP is released, April 6th and 7th. Upon their return to California, they’ll tear through the state supporting Sheer Terror on four shows, playing April 12th through 15th in Pomona, Sacramento, San Francisco, and San Diego. May will see TAKE OFFENSE supporting Life Of Agony in San Diego on the 22nd. Watch for additional new tour dates to be announced.

4/06-07/2018 The Canal Club – Richmond, VA @ United Blood XII w/ Madball, Death Threat
4/12/2018 Characters – Pomona, CA w/ Sheer Terror, Easy Money
4/13/2018 Den Of Sin – Sacramento, CA w/ Sheer Terror, Easy Money
4/14/2018 Thee Parkside – San Francisco, CA w/ Sheer Terror, Easy Money
4/15/2018 Space Bar – San Diego, CA w/ Sheer Terror, Easy Money
5/22/2018 Brick By Brick – San Diego, CA w/ Life Of Agony

A.H. – vocals
Greg Cerwonka – lead guitar
Ruben Benavides – rhythm guitar
Randy Noyes – bass
Joe Rodriguez – drums