SYK: Italian Progressive Extreme Metal Collective To Release I-Optikon Via Philip H. Anselmo’s Housecore Records Next Month; New Track Streaming


Italy-based progressive extreme metal collective SYK (pronounced “sick”) will release their sophomore full-length next month via Philip H. Anselmo’s own Housecore Records.

Led by the nihilistic vocal assault of Dalila Kayros, SYK singes ears with their weighty, grim, complex, noise-laden blend of apocalyptic-sounding savagery. Forged by Stefano Ferrian and Federico De Bernardi Di Valserra, both former members of the well-known long-running avant-grind monstrosity Psychofagist, the band released their debut Atoma via Czech imprint L’Inphantile Collective in 2014.

Following performances supporting the likes of Godflesh and Gigan, the band piqued the interest of Philip H. Anselmo’s Housecore Records. SYK‘s impending sophomore offering, I-Optikon was produced by Anselmo (Down, Pantera, Scour, Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals, Arson Anthem etc.) and Stephen Berrigan (Down, Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals, Eyehategod, Haarp, Classhole, etc.), and features the debut appearances of recently recruited second guitarist Gianluca Ferro who’s collaborated with Andy Timmons, Kiko Loureiro, Guthrie Govan, Jeff Loomis and more. Fans of Meshuggah, Crisis, Starkweather, and general planetary demise, pay heed.

I-Optikon will see release on Housecore Records on December 2nd, 2016. In the meantime, brave souls are encouraged to check out the title track, streaming below:

Offers the band, “‘I Optikon’ is about perspectives. What we see is not that different from a mere opinion; the world is nothing more than our perspective of it. Eventually you realize that you’re not just a slave anymore, you are witnessing the whole.”

I-Optikon Track Listing:

    1. I Optikon
    2. Sinomi
    3. Disintegrate
    4. Mud
    5. Fleshworms
    6. Fong
    7. Absense
    8. The White Sun