STEARICA: Clash Magazine Premieres Track From Italian Instrumental Trio Featuring Colin Stetson; Additional Fertile LP Guest Musicians Revealed

A brand new single from powerful Turin, Italy-based instrumental rock outfit, STEARICA, off of their impending album Fertile, has been premiered by massive UK-based Clash Magazine, the song featuring Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire, Bon Iver, etc.).

The sprawling new single from the long-running STEARICA trio, “Shāh Māt,” showcases the beautifully diverse textures of this and the immaculate presentation and production of their impending sophomore album, Fertile. But as a special added feature with this track the band is also proud to share the fruits of their collaborative efforts with acclaimed multi-instrumentalist Colin Stetson, who has also worked with such luminaries as Tom Waits, David Byrne, The Arcade Fire, Lou Reed, The National, TV On The Radio, Bon Iver and others. Providing a mystical brass orchestration of flute, French horns and tenor and bass saxophones on “Shāh Māt,” Stetson is one of several guest appearances on Fertile, as Scott McCloud (Girls Against Boys) provides vocals for “Amreeka,” and Ryan Patterson (Coliseum) provides vocals on “Nur,” these guest inclusions just one example of STEARICA‘s undoubted exploration into vast new territories with their songwriting and delivery. Clash Magazine states of the song, “‘Shāh Māt,’ the final track on the album, is a terrifying, primordial beast of a track that captures a sense of conflict and struggle at the most basic level.”

Explore the closing track to STEARICA’s Fertile LP with “Shāh Māt” featuring Colin Stetson at Clash RIGHT HERE.

The Obelisk also recently revealed the LP’s second track, “Halite,” which is playing at THIS LOCATION.

STEARICA has also released the full track listing, cover artwork by Moisi Guga and other details on their proud new Fertile album this week, as UK-based Monotreme Records prepares for its worldwide release on April 13th. Fertile will be issued on CD and digital download, as well as a deluxe 180-gram 2xLP double-gatefold edition of 500 copies which include a poster and CD included inside: 300 copies on red and black vinyl and 200 copies on black. Physical preorders can be placed HERE and iTunes preorders HERE.

Fertile Track Listing:
1. Delta
2. Halite
3. Bes
4. Geber
5. Nur
6. Tigris
7. Siqlum
8. Amreeka
9. Shāh Māt

STEARICA will be performing live throughout the UK in April, with additional tour dates to be announced in the near future.

STEARICA Tour Dates:
4/25/2015 The Blue Room – Blackpool, UK
4/27/2015 The Hope and Ruin – Brighton, UK
4/28/2015 The Old Blue Last – London, UK

Over the past decade, STEARICA has gained a cult following in the independent music underground through their powerful and adventurous sound, which is geometrical yet visceral: so intense that there is no need for words. A powerful, adventurous recording, inspired by the squares of the Arab Spring and Barcelona’s Indignants, Fertile, will be released in the early days of Spring; the season of renewal and fertility in many parts of the world including the region historically known as The Fertile Crescent, the birthplace of some of the earliest human civilizations, and also the scene of the revolutionary political uprisings that swept across the Middle East in 2011 known as the Arab Spring. Both the concept of “fertile” as “life-giving” and the revolutionary impulses of the Arab Spring and the Indignants protests in Barcelona provided inspiration for Fertile, its ensuing torrents of sound giving birth to finished songs, just as a receding flood leaves behind fertility-bringing silt. STEARICA — comprised of Francesco Carlucci (guitars, bass, synths, electronics), Davide Compagnoni (drums, percussion, samples) and Luca Paiardi (bass) — captured Fertile at Blu Room, Chivasso, Cavoretto Hills, Cavoretto and Wave Life, Torino, the album recorded by Daniele Mattiuzzi and Francesco Carlucci and produced by Carlucci, after which it was mixed by Daniele Mattiuzzi and Carlucci at Wave Life, and mastered by Michael Fossenkemper at Turtle Tone Studios, New York City. Corralling the primordial nature of the trio’s dynamic live performances — at times brutal, chaotic, mysterious, tranquil — Fertile is music born of our time: instinctively revolutionary.