SPK: Cold Spring Records Reissues LP By Australian Industrial Music Pioneers; Several Tracks Streaming + Preorders Posted

Cold Spring Records presents a reissue of Zamia Lehmanni (Songs Of Byzantine Flowers), the long out-of-print album by Australian industrial/modern classical music pioneers SPK. As the record makes its reemergence next Friday, November 29th, several tracks from the album and preorders have been posted.

Stream selections from SPK’s Zamia Lehmanni (Songs Of Byzantine Flowers) RIGHT HERE.

Originally released by Side Effects in 1986, Zamia Lehmanni (Songs Of Byzantine Flowers) was the third (and final) core SPK album and was Graeme Revell’s first truly solo project. He was in a period of transition, somewhere between the industrial noise of the early years and his later award-winning soundtrack work. On the day before this was first released, this style of music, now ubiquitous (especially in soundtracks), did not exist.

After Information Overload Unit cleared a space for subsequent explorations, and the environmental percussion and anchored mutilated sound collages of Leichenschrei, the “body without organs” was fully eviscerated. Graeme felt ‘industrial music’ was becoming ossified and needed to be taken into radically new territories: “post-industrial.”

The track “In Flagrante Delicto” (mastered as originally intended here) was later used by Revell for his work on the soundtrack for the 1989 film “Dead Calm”, which won him Best Original Score from the Australian Film Institute.

Unavailable in any format since Mute’s 1992 CD edition, Cold Spring now presents this landmark album on newly remastered CD, and on vinyl for the first time since 1986. Approved by Graham Revell, this release comes with new artwork by Abby Helasdottir and is remastered by Martin Bowes (The Cage).

The LP is presented on sumptuous 180-gram black or limited edition of 500 copies on gold vinyl, presented in a 350gsm gatefold sleeve with digital download card. The CD comes in a six-panel digipak. The track “The Doctrine Of Eternal Ice” appears on CD only, but is included on the digital download for vinyl. Both formats feature new liner notes from Graeme Revell, 2019.

Zamia Lehmanni (Songs Of Byzantine Flowers) sees its re-release through Cold Spring next Friday, November 29th. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Zamia Lehmanni (Songs Of Byzantine Flowers) Track Listing:
1. Invocation (To Secular Heresies)
2. Palms Crossed In Sorrow
3. Romanz In Moll (Romance In A Minor Key)
4. In The Dying Moments
5. In Flagrante Delicto (Introduction)
6. In Flagrante Delicto
7. Alocasia Metallica
8. Necropolis
9. The Garden Of Earthly Delights
10. The Doctrine Of Eternal Ice *(CD/digital-only track)