SPIRIT ADRIFT To Release Divided By Darkness LP Through 20 Buck Spin On May 10th; Official Video For “Hear Her” Posted

[photo by Joey Maddon]

Phoenix, Arizona-based SPIRIT ADRIFT will release their third full-length release, Divided By Darkness, through 20 Buck Spin on May 10th. The band has unveiled the LP’s first single, released through an official video for “Hear Her,” which is now also streaming on all digital platforms.

The follow-up to their acclaimed Curse Of Conception LP, which was ranked the #2 best of 2017 by Decibel Magazine, SPIRIT ADRIFT‘s Divided By Darkness was recorded, engineered, and mixed by Sanford Parker (Darkthrone, Eyehategod, Tombs) with the drums recorded at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio Studio, and the cover art once again commissioned to Joe Petagno (Motörhead, Magic Circle, Autopsy).

The video for the LP’s lead single “Hear Her” was directed by Guilherme Henriques with first assistant Catarina Rocha and makeup artist Joana Da Silva, and stars Xana Novais, Diogo Bessa, Guilherme Pompeu, Fernando Leiras.

Watch SPIRIT ADRIFT’s “Hear Her” and experience the first sounds of Divided By Darkness RIGHT HERE.

The single is also now streaming at Bandcamp HERE and via all other digital outlets. 20 Buck Spin will issue Divided By Darkness on LP, CD, and digital platforms on May 10th. Watch for preorders, additional audio samples, and more to post in the days ahead. Diehards of Testament, Ozzy, Metallica, Judas Priest, Crowbar, Pentagram, Mastodon, Thin Lizzy, and Deadbird must experience SPIRIT ADRIFT.

SPIRIT ADRIFT is confirmed to perform at Modified Ghost Festival IV in Vancouver on May 25th with the likes of High On Fire, Toxic Holocaust, Doomriders, Dopethrone, and more, followed by another gig supporting Dopethrone in Edmonton on May 27th. Watch for more SPIRIT ADRIFT tour news to be announced in the days ahead.

5/25/2019 Modified Ghost Festival IV – Vancouver, BC [info]
5/27/2019 Starlite Ballroom – Edmonton, AB w/ Dopethrone [info]

Flashback to 2017: SPIRIT ADRIFT dropped its second LP Curse Of Conception via 20 Buck Spin, a huge step forward following the debut, landing at #2 in Decibel Magazine’s best albums of the year and carving out a sound now patently its own. Lazily labelled doom by some, the band is in fact the true representation of what modern heavy metal should be, a direct descendant of the widely-appealing arena-filling superstars of the ’80s and ’90s without a whiff of anachronistic cosplay fantasies.

SPIRIT ADRIFT‘s third album, Divided By Darkness delivers on the promise first revealed on Curse Of Conception and then advances far beyond it in every way achieving a timeless album for the ages. First single “Hear Her” pummels with the concise urgency and unforgettable chorus of a vital radio hit while “Angel & Abyss” has the classic progression that leads from reflective ballad to rapturous anthemic triumph. The continued evolution of Nathan Garrett as a top vocal talent in modern heavy metal shines through amidst the masterful musicianship and huge production value engineered by Sanford Parker.

Among the many stylistic divergences within rock and metal, SPIRIT ADRIFT‘s Divided By Darkness understands that there is no substitute for huge ambition, soul-bearing lyricism, and most importantly, the ability of an immaculately penned riff and impassioned chorus to alter hearts and minds. Astonishingly Divided By Darkness is SPIRIT ADRIFT‘s heaviest and most accessible album to date and will stand as the apex of heavy metal songcraft in 2019.

Divided By Darkness sees Nathan Garrett also handling all lead and harmony vocals, guitar, and bass, with drums handled by Marcus Bryant, and features synth and Wurlitzer by Preston Bryant and choral vocals on “Living Light” by Kayla Dixon. On stage, SPIRIT ADRIFT‘s lineup is comprised of Nathan Garrett on vocals and guitar, Marcus Bryant on drums, Chase Mason on bass, and Jeff Owens on guitar.

Divided By Darkness Track Listing:
1. We Will Not Die
2. Divided By Darkness
3. Born Into Fire
4. Angel & Abyss
5. Tortured By Time
6. Hear Her
7. Living Light
8. The Way Of Return