SPINEBREAKER: Creator-Destructor To Release Debut Album From San Jose Death Metal Act In January

spinebreaker live [photo by Joe Calixto][photo by Joe Calixto]

From the depths of San Jose, California crawls forth a crushing new outfit displaying a shocking blend of disgustingly heavy old-school death metal, by the name of SPINEBREAKER. The band’s debut offering and upcoming Creator-Destructor 12″ LP, Ice Grave, provides a soundtrack of raw, sonic death-metal annihilation in a world of human filth, greed, and corruption.

Formed in late 2013, SPINEBREAKER has been slowly slithering and making waves in the Bay Area Hardcore and Metal community with their crushing and explosive blend of European-Inspired death metal. Make no mistake, while Ice Grave is by all means a pure death metal record, SPINEBREAKER‘s sound and tendency for intense-as-fuck live performances has arisen out of love for an array of d-beat, punk, hardcore, and death metal alike. The band unloads pure audio destruction: not overly calculated, lightning-fast or technical, but reliably menacing and tremendously heavy. If you love the sound of old-school death metal combined with the hardcore fury and a unique, blood-pumping urgency, look no further.

Through the twelve tracks that form Ice Grave, SPINEBREAKER reminds the listener of the glory days of 1990s Scandinavian, Swedish and American Death Metal in a way that is refreshing and punishing, without falling victim to the trend of 21st Century Entombed-Worship HM-2 clones. While the band varies in tempo throughout their debut release, sometimes grooving into Heartwork-era down-tuned riffage, and other times blasting their way through an onslaught of tremolo and thrash, the songs never cease to impress in their ability to maintain brutally heavy, while diverse and violent in their own way. Songs like “Internal Bleeding” and “River Of Pain” pay homage to and reflect the musical range of mid-tempo death metal influences such as Obituary and Bolt Thrower, while vocalist Alex Herrera completely dominates the songs in a way that would make Matt Kärki and Jeff Walker proud. Guitarists Cole Kakimoto and Elliot Morrow never cease to turn down the intensity of their down-tuned twin axe assault of sludge and punishment, which helps mould SPINEBREAKER‘s sound into one of complete devastation.

Creator-Destructor will issue SPINEBREAKER‘s Ice Grave debut on 12″ vinyl and through all digital outlets on January 15th, 2016. The album’s appropriately forbidding cover art courtesy of Vrugarth and track listing have been posted. Stand by for tour dates, preorders, audio samples from this beast and more to be released in the upcoming days of your grim future.


Ice Grave Track Listing:
1. Enter The Storm…
2. …Into The Ice Grave
3. Internal Bleeding
4. Fractured Existence
5. Severed Denial
6. River Of Pain
7. Slithering Tyrant
8. Withering In The Blizzard
9. Flesh Wound
10. Entrenched
11. Divine Mortal Being
12. Merciless Victory