SONATA ARCTICA Launches Lyric Video For “The Rest Of The Sun Belongs To Me” From Their Upcoming Acoustic Adventures – Volume One Album; Preorders Available

Photo by Jarkko Piipari

Finnish melodic metal icons SONATA ARCTICA should be closing their Acoustic Adventures European tour this week. Unfortunately, it had to be postponed to late 2022 due to obvious reasons. But fans need not worry as the band are bringing some cozy living room concert atmosphere to their homes in the form of the first part of their two-piece Acoustic Adventures album, due out on January 21st, 2022 via Atomic Fire.

Containing acoustic adaptions of twelve tracks leading through SONATA ARCTICA‘s discography, Acoustic Adventures – Volume One was recorded and produced by Mikko Tegelman and the band at Studio57, Finland; Tegelman was also responsible for the album’s mix and mastering alongside bass player Pasi Kauppinen. The artwork by the quintet’s longtime collaborator and fellow countryman, Janne Pitkänen (Nightwish, Auri) rounds off the total experience charmingly.

The first single from Acoustic Adventures – Volume One, “The Rest Of The Sun Belongs To Me,” is available as a lyric video viewable at THIS LOCATION.

States keyboardist Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg, “‘The Rest Of The Sun Belongs To Me’ was a song that first appeared as a bonus track for Japan back in 2003, just around the time I joined the band. When we started to arrange songs for the second Acoustic Adventures tour in 2019, this song somehow kept popping up and we decided to give it a go. Our dear friend Masi Hukari who joined us on stage for the tour did a lot of the work on this particular arrangement and I think that his input was really important in how this song turned out. For this record, we used the live arrangement as a starting point and I don’t think the song changed that much, so what you hear is a slightly refined version of the 2019 tour arrangement. We decided to use this song as the first single since it’s really different from the original studio version and as always, we prefer to offer something new and interesting for our fans and for ourselves as well.”

Preorder Acoustic Adventures – Volume One physically – on digipak CD or vinyl in various color variants – and presave/preorder it digitally to receive “The Rest Of The Sun Belongs To Me” instantly now through the Atomic Fire webshop at THIS LOCATION.

Acoustic Adventures – Volume One Track Listing:

  1. The Rest Of The Sun Belongs To Me
  2. For The Sake Of Revenge
  3. A Little Less Understanding
  4. Alone In Heaven
  5. Tallulah
  6. Don’t Say A Word
  7. As If The World Wasn’t Ending
  8. Paid In Full
  9. Tonight I Dance Alone
  10. The Wolves Die Young
  11. Wolf & Raven
  12. On The Faultline

See SONATA ARCTICA live on the Acoustic Adventures MMXXII trek across Finland from February 4th through March 5th, the 25th Anniversary Tour across South America from April 1st through April 24th, at a variety of festival and special performances throughout the entire Summer, in the Ukraine and Russia in September, on another leg of the Acoustic Adventures MMXXII again across the majority of Europe from October 20th through December 3rd, and more. Stay up to date on the band’s live itinerary and ticket info at their official tour page HERE.

Tony Kakk – vocals, keyboards
Elias Viljanen – guitars
Pasi Kauppinen – bass
Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg – keyboards
Tommy Portimo – drums

Artwork by Janne Pitkänen