SNARES OF SIXES: Invisible Oranges Premieres “Retroperistalsis” From Act Founded By Agalloch’s Jason Walton

Snares Promo 02_web [photo by Cody Keto]

SNARES OF SIXES – the latest exploratory musical entity created by Jason Walton, founding member of now defunct Agalloch – will release its debut EP, Yeast Mother: An Electroacoustic Mass, through Crucial Blast in early May. Invisible Oranges has premiered the extensive closing track, “Retroperistalsis,” which features Walton’s longtime Agalloch ally Don Anderson, also of Sculptured, and more.

Fusing an intense and eclectic range of extreme and experimental approaches into a disjointed and somehow simultaneously seamless hybrid of sounds, Yeast Mother: An Electroacoustic Mass features contributions from members of Lawnmower Deth, Winds, Sculptured, Blekspetl, Hollow Branches, Self Spiller, Barrowlands, Age Of Silence, Dolven, Musk Ox, The Night Watch, Maestus, and more.

Alongside the premiere of the new single, Invisible Oranges issues in part, “‘Retroperistalsis’ ends this brief EP on its most aggressive note, echoing late-stage Dødheimsgard’s industrialized black metal madness with the stuttering horror of Geogaddi’s most overwhelming climaxes. All the name-dropping and points of comparison aside, SNARES OF SIXES‘s opening statement flows with an organic quality, taking elements from the various styles with which JWW has experimented over the past few decades.”

Experience “Retroperistalsis” by SNARES OF SIXES only through Invisible Oranges at THIS LOCATION.

Crucial Blast will issue Yeast Mother: An Electroacoustic Mass on digital and six-panel digipak CD on May 5th; preorders are now available RIGHT HERE.

Five years ago, in a period of downtime from the band Agalloch, Jason Walton wanted to write a strange and abrasive record; the aim was to record an album that pushed on the paradigms within metal. The result is a cohesive and challenging album that draws from seemingly disparate ideas and styles. Initially slated be a full-length album, Walton realized that he complexity and density of the material encourages listening in small dosage, and SNARES OF SIXES Yeast Mother: An Electroacoustic Mass EP was finalized. Often difficult, frequently nightmarish, SNARES OF SIXES‘ output easily ranks as one of Walton’s more challenging and oblique offerings, and for the listeners, one of his most fascinating. Features Marius Sjøli and Robert Hunter (Hollow Branches), Andy Winter (Winds), Pete Lee (Lawnmower Deth), Nathanaël Larochette (Musk Ox), and Don Anderson (Agalloch, Sculptured), among others. Recorded all over the world, the record was mixed at Earth in Sound Studios by Jason Walton, mastered by James Plotkin, and features graphics by Marius Sjoli and artwork by Aesop Dekker.

SNARES OF SIXES is working on a live lineup with plans of performing shows in the months ahead.