SLEEPING ANCIENT: Houston-Based Atmospheric Post-Black Metal Alchemists To Unleash There Is No Truth But Death Debut Via Viridian Flame Records; New Track Streaming + Preorders Available

Photo NecroBlanca Photography And Design

Houston, Texas based atmospheric post-black metal alchemists SLEEPING ANCIENT will release their debut full-length, There Is No Truth But Death, this fall via Viridian Flame Records.

Forged in 2010 on the back of a Craigslist ad, the band began as an instrumental post-rock act naming itself in honor of the cosmic, psychic, and apocalyptic horrors referenced in the works of H. P. Lovecraft. Weathering lineup changes and prolonged breaks over the course of several years, the SLEEPING ANCIENT collective managed to refine their wholly unique output into a striking sound driven by a sense of bleak desolation. In 2016, the band released their debut EP, The Last Seer.

Emerging from a scene more consumed by stoner rock and death metal, SLEEPING ANCIENT manifests a sonic aura that’s at once epic and organic; monolithic and mesmerizing. Centering on themes of endless, existential dread and depressive, melancholic grave worship, the band’s impending debut, There Is No Truth But Death, was captured at Southwing Audio, engineered and mixed by Craig Douglas and Chris Kritikos, and mastered by Brad Boatright (Sunn O))) Mournful Congregation, Noisem, Portrayal of Guilt) at Audiosiege. The end result is seven dark, consuming hymns built on the ebb and flow of its cascading guitars, simmering drums, and tormented vocal inflections; monochromatic nihilism boiling beneath a gorgeous post metal soundscape.

In advance of the record’s release, SLEEPING ANCIENT is pleased to unveil “A Path Emerges,” self-described as, “an explosive launch into the pummeling, abyssal doom.”

Stream “A Path Emerges” at THIS LOCATION (or below).

There Is No Truth But Death will be self-released on CD and digitally September 6th. For preorders, visit the SLEEPING ANCIENT Bandcamp page at THIS LOCATION. A limited-edition vinyl edition of the record will be available via Belgium’s Viridian Flame Records. For preorders, go to THIS LOCATION.

There Is No Truth But Death Track Listing:

  1. Keeper Of Wasted Lives
  2. A Path Emerges
  3. Akeru
  4. Taphephobic Hallucinations
  5. Disillusionist
  6. A Locked Room
  7. Writhing In The City Of Dregs