SKELETON: Austin, Texas Blackened Metal/Punk Trio To Release Debut LP Via 20 Buck Spin; “Catacombs” Now Streaming

Photo by Mike Garcia

Ripping forth like a dagger from the flesh of Austin, Texas comes the self-titled debut LP from the lone star state’s new wreckers of civilization, SKELETON. Having plied their black-market trade for several years in grime infested underground dungeons and sub-basements, 20 Buck Spin was called forth to issue SKELETON‘s first LP, a cataclysmic expansion of the band’s unhallowed vision venturing well beyond its earlier borders.

Though some might be prone to lazily apply simplistic genre tags to SKELETON‘s style, the reality is far more sweeping as the debut LP immediately reveals an excessively sharp metallic-charged juggernaut of severe force and high plains mayhem. War-like hymns for the soldiers of a scorched apocalypse to come, from which a bleak alternate future will emerge.

Probably the most savage and intelligent dark punk/metal hybrid in years, the eleven tracks comprising Skeleton signal the black dawn of a new breed, and when the final somber strains of “Catacombs” close out the album, an eerie sense of the end as the beginning lingers like a morbid premonition.

Stream SKELETON’s “Catacombs” at YouTube HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Skeleton was recorded and mixed by Chico Jones at Estuary Recording Facility, produced by SKELETON and Jones and mastered by Sasha Stroud at Artifact Audio NYC with artwork by Jeremy Cook, layout by Ian Graham, and photography by Mark Garcia and John Byrnes.

20 Buck Spin will release Skeleton on LP, CD, cassette, and digital platforms on July 10th. Fans of Venom, Bathory, early Mayhem, Discharge, Anti Cimex, Amebix, Raspberry Bulbs, G.I.S.M., Nightfell, or who follow the Austin Texas punk/metal scenes watch for preorders, additional audio samples, live dates, and more to be announced in the weeks ahead.

Skeleton Track Listing:
1. Skeleton
2. Mark Of Death
3. The Sword
4. T.O.A.D.
5. Ring Of Fire
6. At War
7. Taste Of Blood
8. Victory
9. A Far Away Land
10. Turned To Stone
11. Catacombs

David Skeleton – guitar
Victor Skeleton – drums/vocals
Cody Combs – bass
Alex Guzman – guitar