RUSK: Experimental Rock Act To Release Debut Full-Length, Om Improvement, Through Nefarious Industries In July; “Aye Aye” Video Playing + Preorders Posted

Nefarious Industries presents bi-coastal experimental rock outfit RUSK, and their debut album, Om Improvement. Confirming the record for July release, the label offers a video for the lead single, “Aye Aye,” alongside the cover art, track listing, preorders, and more.

Formerly known as post-rock/math-rock duo Jerkagram, twin brothers Brent (drums) and Derek (guitar) Gaines have re-envisioned their output and returned as RUSK, joined on their new record by Ryan Pivovar (bass) and Zachary Paul (violin). The Gaines brothers have toured North America extensively for over a decade and recently made themselves known in Japan when touring to support Jerkagram’s third LP, 2018’s All Eyes On Me.

RUSK‘s forthcoming full-length effort Om Improvement is at once an orchestral melodramatic rapture and a jagged rhythmic exploration that is both loosely improvisational and meticulously crafted. With six movements embodying forty-five minutes of exploratory and entrancing music, Om Improvement ventures through vast reams of rock, infusing orchestral and improvisational elements leading more into free-jazz, noise rock, and even classical music. The album sees the collective joined by friends Paul Christensen, Patrick Shiroishi, Lex Helgerson, and Jason Adams who each provide musical contributions to various songs.

Om Improvement was recorded and mixed by the noble John McEntire (Tortoise, The Sea And Cake) at Soma Studios in the woods of northern California, with additional recording by Jason Adams, mastered by Eric Castillo, and completed with artwork by Chris Nag.

“‘Aye-Aye’ was the first song on the record with all of the lyrics written (by Brent) and the meaning of it is essentially the meaning of a lot of our music at its heart — that there is an endless tension between a constructed stable ‘self’ and its fragmentation the moment that self is examined. This song is about everything that is alive in you. It’s half-written (the first half) and half-improvised (the second half) and was a lot of fun to record. We wanted to show people this cut first because it’s a lot like our previous material in some ways, but you can feel the difference in the instrumentation and vocal styling and production. ”

A video for the first single from RUSK’s Om Improvement, “Aye Aye,” is now playing at THIS LOCATION.

Om Improvement will see release on all digital platforms and a super limited run of sixty frosted ice tapes on July 1st. Find preorder and presave options at the Nefarious Industries landing page for the album HERE.

The band has created videos for every song on the album, which will be dispatched steadily throughout the next few months surrounding its release.

Om Improvement Track Listing:
1. Mythomania
2. Cheat Day
3. Priggish
4. Banana Brain
5. Aye Aye
6. The Escaping Elk