REALMS OF VISION Debuts “Deception Mask” Single At Metal Injection; Creator-Destructor To Release Through All Unknown LP In March

[photo by Matt Kadi]

California-based REALMS OF VISION, the groove-drenched psychedelic rock outfit featuring members of Animosity, Set Your Goals, and more, has issued the first single from their impending second album, Through All Unknown. “Deception Mask” sees its debut through a premiere at Metal Injection as Creator-Destructor Records releases preorders for the album.

REALMS OF VISION‘s Frank Costa offers, “‘Deception Mask’ is about waking up to the forces in this world that seek to manipulate, subjugate, and steer our society into a dark collective nightmare. Musically, it stands out from the rest of Through All Unknown because it’s faster, shorter, and even has some death-metal inspired sections. It’s kind of a breather in the context of the longer, heavier pieces on the album.”

Metal Injection reports, “REALMS OF VISION take inspiration from bands like Alice in Chains and High On Fire… We’re excited to premiere the lead single, ‘Deception Mask,’ featuring deliciously chunky riffs and some legit grooves that will get your neck snapping.”

Stream REALMS OF VISION’s “Deception Mask” at Metal Injection RIGHT HERE.

REALMS OF VISION will release Through All Unknown through Creator-Destructor Records on CD, LP, and digital platforms on March 30th; find preorder options HERE.

Watch for additional audio previews, tour dates, and more to be issued.

REALMS OF VISION began in 2015 and has been establishing a name for themselves regionally with their special blend of slow destruction. Featuring Frank Costa (Animosity, Entheos) and Corey Largent on guitars and vocals, Mike Ambrose (Set Your Goals) on drums, and Brandon McCubbin on bass, the California hard-hitters are road-worn experts in their craft, and the nine tracks that comprise Through All Unknown reveal that resoundingly.

From the eerie opening of the intro, “Invoke,” straight into the absolutely decimating sludge/stoner riffage of “State Of Silence,” the listener can tell immediately that these musicians know what they’re doing on Through All Unknown. While combining down-tuned, expertly-written riffs and song-structures is the band’s specialty, the powerful vocals of Costa harken back to the best and darkest aspects of ’90s grunge, with a clean-singing approach that adds crucial memorable hooks to the band’s sound, while not detracting from the sheer heaviness in the slightest. Creating such a unique sound is no easy feat, but REALMS OF VISION has here succeeded in spades. Tracks like “Deception Mask” and “Isolation’s Crown” reveal a combination of influences such as Alice in Chains, High On Fire, Type O’ Negative and Black Sabbath; an amalgamation of darkness, melody, and esoteric intensity, potently paired with the modern flare of Costa’s slam/death metal tendencies on guitar from his years in San Francisco’s furiously technical hometown heroes, Animosity.