R.A.M.B.O.: Philly Hardcore Punk Legends Release “The End Is Nye” Music Video; First New Album Since 2006, Defy Extinction, Out November 4th Through Relapse Records

Philadelphia hardcore punk legends R.A.M.B.O. today unveil a video for “The End Is Nye,” the new single from their impending Defy Extinction LP, nearing release through Relapse Records.

They might have gone out at the top of their game, but now, fifteen years later, R.A.M.B.O. is back with their aptly titled Defy Extinction. This is not a nostalgia trip, or an attempt at recapturing past glory; the band has their sights trained on the present. On these sixteen tracks of pounding, epic, crust-infused hardcore punk and beatdowns, R.A.M.B.O. is imploring you to believe in science, fight authoritarianism, and most of all Defy Extinction! For fans of Discharge, Integrity, Doom, Municipal Waste, Tragedy, Negative Approach, 9 Shocks Terror, Spazz, and D.R.I., R.A.M.B.O. is a must-hear!

With the video for “The End Is Nye,” R.A.M.B.O. vocalist Tony Croasdale comments, “This song was inspired by the cover photo of the September 2014 issue of Popular Science showing Bill Nye in a boxing pose with his hands wrapped. I work as a science communicator, and Bill Nye has been a big inspiration for me. I wonder how he manages to stay cool in the public eye in this era of science denial.  This song runs with the obvious pun and imagines what might happen if he snapped and let out decades of frustration. We hope it’s clear that no one is supposed to be killed in the video, just kidnapped and forced to listen to the IPCC report read in its entirety. The messy bow tie at the end is an intentional artistic choice to represent the unraveling of Bill Nye and has nothing to do with the fact that no one on set knew how to tie a bow tie.

“Bill Nye is most welcome to use this song as his walkout music for his next debate. It’s the least we can do.”

R.A.M.B.O.’s “The End Is Nye” video can now be viewed at THIS LOCATION.

Defy Extinction will see release through Relapse on LP, CD, cassette, and all digital providers on November 4th. Find preorders for all physical formats via Relapse.com HERE and digital presaves HERE.

Watch for additional previews of the album to drop over the weeks ahead.

R.A.M.B.O. is drummer Jared Shavelson (The Hope Conspiracy, None More Black, Paint It Black), guitarist Andy Wheeler (Reagan Squad), bassist Bull Gervasi (Policy Of Three, Four Hundred Years), and notorious 1990s-2000s Philly punk scene promoter Tony Croasdale on vocals. To say that R.A.M.B.O. occupies a singular space in punk history is an understatement. During their initial run from 1999 to 2007, the band took influences from thrash, anarcho-punk, d-beat, crust, and hardcore and combined that with intelligent but very fun – and at times downright ridiculous – lyrics to create what was very much a DIY powerhouse. In those eight years they released two albums, 7″ splits with Crucial Unit and Caustic Christ, and played thousands of gigs across the country and internationally.

The guitars for Defy Extinction were recorded by Taylor Young at The Pit in Los Angeles, the drums were recorded by Kyle Black at West Alley Recordings, and the vocals and bass were primarily recorded by Steve Roche at Permanent Hearing Damage. Additionally, the album features guest synth contributions by Bahemoth, additional bass and guitars by Taylor Young, guest vocals from Nicole Enriquez, Dan Yemin, and John Baizley, group vocals by Josh Agran, Matthew Halley, John Paul Golaski, and Benjamin Kitchens, a poem recited by Johnny Takeaway, spoken word by Tykee James, field recordings by Matthew Halley, and technical support was provided by Zach Weeks and Kurt Ballou. The album was mixed by Taylor Young, mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege, and completed with front cover artwork by Timbul Cahyono and back cover/insert artwork by Jacob Speis. “River Of Birds” lyrics were adapted from lyrics by Bill Thompson III used with permission and in his memory.