R.A.M.B.O.: Philadelphia Hardcore Punk Legends Sign To Relapse Records And Announce New Album, Defy Extinction, Out November 4th; Title Track Video/Single Playing + Cover Art And Preorders Issued

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-based hardcore punk legends R.A.M.B.O. return and sign to Relapse Records for the November 4th release of Defy Extinction, the band’s first full-length album since 2006! The cover art, track listing, preorders, and more have been posted along with a video for the album’s lead single and title track.

To say that R.A.M.B.O. occupies a singular space in punk history is an understatement. During their initial run from 1999 to 2007, the band took influences from thrash, anarcho-punk, d-beat, crust, and hardcore and combined that with intelligent but very fun – and at times downright ridiculous – lyrics to create what was very much a DIY powerhouse. In those eight years they released two albums, 7″ splits with Crucial Unit and Caustic Christ, and played thousands of gigs across the country and internationally.

R.A.M.B.O. unites drummer Jared Shavelson (The Hope Conspiracy, None More Black, Paint It Black), guitarist Andy Wheeler (Reagan Squad), bassist Bull Gervasi (Policy Of Three, Four Hundred Years), and notorious 1990s-2000s Philly punk scene promoter Tony Croasdale on vocals.

They might have gone out at the top of their game but now, fifteen years later, R.A.M.B.O. is back with their aptly titled new album, Defy Extinction. This is not a nostalgia trip, or an attempt at recapturing past glory; R.A.M.B.O. has their sights trained on the present. On these sixteen tracks of pounding, epic, crust-infused hardcore punk and beatdowns, R.A.M.B.O. is imploring you to believe in science, fight authoritarianism, and most of all Defy Extinction!

The guitars for Defy Extinction were recorded by Taylor Young at The Pit in Los Angeles, the drums were recorded by Kyle Black at West Alley Recordings, and the vocals and bass were primarily recorded by Steve Roche at Permanent Hearing Damage. Additionally, the album features guest synth contributions by Bahemoth, additional bass and guitars by Taylor Young, guest vocals from Nicole Enriquez, Dan Yemin, and John Baizley, group vocals by Josh Agran, Matthew Halley, John Paul Golaski, and Benjamin Kitchens, a poem recited by Johnny Takeaway, spoken word by Tykee James, field recordings by Matthew Halley, and technical support was provided by Zach Weeks and Kurt Ballou. The album was mixed by Taylor Young, mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege, and completed with front cover artwork by Timbul Cahyono and back cover/insert artwork by Jacob Speis. “River Of Birds” lyrics were adapted from lyrics by Bill Thompson III used with permission and in his memory.

Tony Croasdale states, “R.A.M.B.O. is stoked to announce that our new album will be released, excuse me, unleashed, on Relapse Records on November 4th. With a local connection and global reach, Relapse makes perfect sense for R.A.M.B.O. We have known folks at Relapse for a long time, starting when Bull and I put on Brutal Truth and other shows in West Philly warehouses twenty-five years ago, and it continues with our friends on staff and in active bands in the label now. Defy Extinction is a love letter to people and wildlife. The beauty of humanity and nature is worth fighting for.”

The video for “Defy Extinction” showcases the unstoppable energy of R.A.M.B.O., compiling live footage from shows and festivals across the planet in their initial run, merged with images of nature and more.

Watch R.A.M.B.O.’s “Defy Extinction” video now at THIS LOCATION.

Defy Extinction will see release through Relapse on LP, CD, cassette, and all digital providers on November 4th. Find preorders for all physical formats via Relapse.com HERE and digital presaves HERE. For fans of Discharge, Integrity, Doom, Municipal Waste, Tragedy, Negative Approach, 9 Shocks Terror, Spazz, and D.R.I., R.A.M.B.O. is a must-hear!

Watch for additional videos and previews of Defy Extinction to be issued over the weeks ahead!

Defy Extinction Track Listing:
1. River Of Birds
2. Who Let The Sheepdogs Out?
3. Authorities > Authority
4. The End Is Nye
5. Imperialist Pigs In Space
6. Cattle Tyrant
7: Q: And Children? A: Real Children
8. Love And Science 1
9. Judas Goat
10. Defy Extinction
11. Outlive The Bastards
12. CH@D
13. Blizzard Brigade
14. Love And Science 2
15. New World Vultures
16. Biomass
17. YouTube Disasters

Tony Croasdale – vocals
Andrew Wheeler – guitar
Bull Gervasi – bass
Jared Shavelson – drums