PULCHRA MORTE: Death/Doom Unit Featuring Current/Former Members Of Skeletonwitch, Wolvhammer, Eulogy, And More To Release Their Ex Rosa Ceremonia Full-Length November 6th Via Transcending Records; New Track Streaming + Preorders Available

Photo by Jeremy Miller

Death/doom unit PULCHRA MORTE will release their long-anticipated second full-length, Ex Rosa Ceremonia, November 6th via Transcending Records

With drums recorded to tape in the analog environment of Earth Analog Studios, and guitars, bass, vocals, and cellos captured at New Constellation RPM, the nine-track offering carries on where the band’s Divina Autem Et Aniles debut left off conjuring often alarmingly weighty psalms focused on atmosphere, feeling, and flow.

However, where Divina Autem Et Aniles explored the many facets of death, with Ex Rosa Ceremonia the PULCHRA MORTE collective sought to “pull the veil back a bit and expose more of our collective path and intention,” further elaborating, “Ex Rosa Ceremonia conceptually refers to a need for a mental and spiritual renaissance. Looking back throughout history, there have been movements that inspired and created many metaphysical systems and philosophies that, upon deeper inspection, led us forward as a species in many ways, though hidden behind the curtain of magical order and secret society. As the near-sighted corral the blind and the masses happily stab their third eye with a constant diet of blue light among other things, we have arrived at a time that begs deeply for the need of an expanded consciousness. We see masses being led by the governing of robotic suggestions to align with your enemy based on alarmist response-seeking propaganda. A world of experts lacking substance, clamoring for the dopamine endorphin-guzzling pastime that becomes a virtual existence for many. Words like ‘influencer’ and ‘trending’ that are spoken instead of vomited, as they should be. The suggestion to ‘get in line’ or be destroyed through character assassination. The record speaks of the power of unity when like minds join, the strength of a creature like us with nothing to lose when tenacity is put to the test with no alternative conceivable. People have become willingly blind to the power of the human mind when it is quieted and directed, when the bulb of the strobe light effect of media blitz hypnosis is smashed. The power of focus and purpose. And the rose of ceremony.”

Ex Rosa Ceremonia was produced, engineered, and mixed by the band’s own Jarrett Pritchard at New Constellation, mastered by Maor Appelbaum (Faith No More, Halford, Sepultura) at Maor Appelbaum Mastering, and features cover art by Brian Sheehan, a guest lead from Jay Fernandez (Brutality), guest vocals from Heather Dykstra, cello courtesy of Naarah Strokosch, and backing vocals provided by dozens of contributors from around the globe.

In advance of the release of Ex Rosa Ceremonia, PULCHRA MORTE is pleased to unleash the record’s title track, now streaming at THIS LOCATION.

PULCHRA MORTE’s Ex Rosa Ceremonia will be released on CD, limited LP, and digitally. For physical preorders, go to THIS LOCATION. For digital preorders, go HERE.

Ex Rosa Ceremonia Track Listing:
1. The Serpents Choir
2. Fires Of Coil
3. Knife Of The Will
4. In The Mourning Light
5. Prince Among Shadows
6. The Archer & The Noose
7. To Suffer (The Way You Do)
8. Locust Humanity
9. Ex Rosa Ceremonia

PULCHRA MORTE (ˈpul.kÊ°ra / ˈmÉ”r.te) – comprised of Adam Clemans (Skeletonwitch, Wolvhammer), John Porada (Wolvhammer, Abigail Williams), Jarrett Pritchard (Eulogy, Brutality), Clayton Gore (Eulogy, Harkonin), and Jeffrey Breden (Leagues Below) – began in 2017 with the intent to recapture the purpose of greats from the late-’80s through early-’90s doom-laden death metal scene, a point where feeling superseded technicality.

By 2019, the band released their debut full-length Divina Autem Et Aniles. The record reaped critical accolades both Stateside and abroad. Decibel Magazine wrote, “With Pritchard behind the knobs… the record’s in capable hands to conjure the somber serenades of early Anathema. But with PULCHRA MORTE, Pritchard takes melodic death-doom oddities like Visceral Evisceration’s Incessant Desire For Palatable Flesh or Pyogenesis’ Ignis Creato and polishes their rough casket wood.” Brutalism hailed the band’s, “Brilliant riffs, beautiful melodies, and haunting atmosphere.” Grizzly Butts gushed, “I did not merely collapse under its striking invocations of sorrow or the plodding, romanesque strings of melodic lead that highlight each track, PULCHRA MORTE‘s sourly dire debut pressed life’s most troubling concerns as a rifle against my temples.” New Noise Magazine noted, “Everything on this record comes forward with an air of strength and authority….” Added Grimm Gent, “PULCHRA MORTE combines the models from the ’90s doom metal and displays them with strong elements of early Paradise Lost Gothic-era and God Macabre’s debut.”

The band played various shows throughout the US in support of Divina Autem Et Aniles, including the Full Terror Assault Open Air V festival, as well as several sold-out shows in support 1349’s North American tour with Uada and Cloak before entering the studio in September of that year to record their next chapter: Ex Rosa Ceremonia.

Adam Clemans – vocals
John Porada – bass, backing vocals
Jeffrey Breden – guitars
Jarrett Pritchard – guitars
Clayton Gore – drums

Cover art by Brian Sheehan