PROSPEKT: Sensory Confirms Pending Full-Length From British Quartet

Oxford, England-based quartet PROSPEKT has signed with progressive metal linchpin Sensory Records for the pending release of the band’s massive debut full-length.

Coalescing the fierce technicality of progressive metal with the symphonic elements of contemporary prog through brutal riffs, odd time-signatures, and majestic melodies, PROSPEKT‘s sound is influenced by bands such as Dream Theater, Symphony X, Opeth and Circus Maximus, as well as film scores and fusion. The band’s intent is to create an intelligent and atmospheric mix of melodic, modern progressive metal, incorporating passionate high-range vocals, frenetic guitar work, haunting orchestration and solid grooves, every composition remaining interesting and original.

Formed in 2008 by guitarist Lee Luland and drummer Blake Richardson, PROSPEKT began as an experimental project, with the focus on complex instrumentation. Through incessant amounts of writing and rehearsing, the duo forged a sound that would epitomize their technical, melodic and progressive methodology. With the addition of bassist Phil Wicker and vocalist Matt Winchester in 2009, the band released their self-titled debut EP in March 2011 which was met with critical acclaim. In the Fall of that year Richard Marshall joined the band on keyboards and lead vocals (replacing Matt), adding a new dimension to the music. With his smooth, powerful voice the compositions became more epic and charismatic. Soon after the lineup shift PROSPEKT hit the studio and recorded their debut full-length, The Colourless Sunrise, and hired world renowned producer Jens Bogren and Adam ‘Nolly’ Getgood of Periphery to mix and master the epic, sixty-five minute album.

The Colourless Sunrise is scheduled for October 2013 release via Sensory Records, a division of The Laser’s Edge. Further details will be released in the coming weeks.