POWER PALADIN Signs To Atomic Fire Records And Announces Debut Album, With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel; Band Playthrough Video Now Playing + Preorders Available

Photo by Eva Alexandra Photography

Imagine deserted volcanic wasteland, freezing winds, and the all-embracing darkness of the longest winters on this planet: the obvious inspiration for rather vicious and somber tunes for lonely evening hours that the biggest part of Iceland’s heavy music scene is known for. Who would dare to think of tales about brave warriors and mystical creatures coming from such an island? Power metal seemed like a fairytale until 2017 when a Reykjavík-based sextet rose in quest of carrying out their uplifting tunes and finally proving everyone wrong. On an island known for its musical doom and gloom, they are the midnight sun.

Following its recent launch, Atomic Fire Records is pleased to announce the signing of Icelandic power metal newcomers POWER PALADIN who are set to unleash their nine-track debut album With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel upon the world on January 7th, 2022.

Comments the band, “Greetings travelers and adventure seekers! After a long journey searching for a home for our firstborn album, we have finally found our homestead. We’re so immensely happy to announce that we’ve just signed with Atomic Fire Records! Not only that, but they have even handed us a mystery box containing something very special: a magical disc including ‘Kraven The Hunter’ himself! Preorder your own ‘Kraven’ via the link below.”

Adds Markus Wosgien, Atomic Fire Records CEO/label manager, “Speedy guitars and thundering drums, high-pitched vocals and mystical storytelling: there’s simply nothing about this band power metal fans – that can also be found in our label’s ranks, of course – can’t go wrong with. That’s why we’re very happy to welcome POWER PALADIN as one of the very first additions to our varied roster. Let’s make this saga a glorious one!”

To give fans a first impression of what’s to come, the group has also released a band play-through video, which was created by Glen Mountford Media, for the record’s first single, a relentlessly galloping tale titled “Righteous Fury.”

“It’s about an order of ancient and righteous Paladins who breaks their seclusion in order to drive a heinous evil from the realms,” the band notes. “A fast and furious song that pays homage to speed metal classics, including a solo powered by the triforce itself.”

View POWER PALADIN’s “Righteous Fury” at THIS LOCATION.

Preorder the album in various formats (digipak CD, black and color vinyl) as well as the Kraven The Hunter 7″ orange vinyl single (out December 10th, 2021), pre-save it, or preorder With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel digitally to receive “Righteous Fury” instantly at: https://music.atomicfire-records.com/windfyre.

With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel Track Listing:

    1. Kraven The Hunter
    2. Righteous Fury
    3. Evermore
    4. Dark Crystal
    5. Way Of Kings
    6. Ride The Distant Storm
    7. Creatures Of The Night08. Into The Forbidden Forest
    8. There Can Be Only One

“Kraven The Hunter” 7″ Single Track Listing:
Side A: Kraven The Hunter (Single Edit)
Side B: Creatures Of The Night (Single Edit)

Recorded and produced by POWER PALADIN, mixed by Haukur Hannes at Mastertape Studios (Auðn, Dynfari etc.) and mastered by Frank de Jong at Hal5 Studio (Bleeding Gods etc.) ,With The Magic Of Windfyre Steel  makes no secret of the band’s musical idols: “Iron Maiden, Dio, Helloween – the list of bands from the ‘80s that influence us is a kind of obvious, but growing up we’ve actually listened way more to the second wave of power metal and acts such as Edguy, Rhapsody, and Hammerfall,” they explain. The group’s love for fantasy games and books from authors such as Brandon Sanderson and Joe Abercrombie doesn’t go unnoticed either: James Child (Astral Clock Tower Studios) translated that inspiration into the record’s adventurous artwork.

Ingi Þórisson – guitars
Atli Guðlaugsson – vocals
Bjarni Egill Ögmundsson – keys
Einar Karl Júlíusson – drums
Bjarni Þór Jóhannsson – guitars
Kristleifur Þorsteinsson – bass