PETBRICK: UK Act Of Iggor Cavalera And Wayne Adams Presents Liminal LP With Guests From Converge, Neurosis, More Via Neurot Recordings; “Primer” Video Premiered At Cvlt Nation + Preorders Posted

photos by Al Overdrive

Neurot Recordings in conjunction with Rocket Recordings presents Liminal, the second LP from UK-based industrial/electronic hybrid act PETBRICK, formed by Wayne Adams (Big Lad, Johnny Broke) and Iggor Cavalera (Sepultura, Cavalera Conspiracy, Soulwax). Confirmed for release in late September, today the cover art, track listing, preorders, and more have been posted as Cvlt Nation premieres a video for the lead single, “Primer.”

With eleven futuristic, dystopian movements, PETBRICK’s Liminal unloads an intense but organic biomechanical sound possibly derived from the realms of industrial, death metal, hardcore, EDM, ambient, and more while defying any direct genre confines, as heard on their prior LP, multiple EPs and singles, collaborations with labelmates Deafkids, and more. Liminal was recorded and mixed by Wayne Adams at Bearbiteshorse Studio in London, mastered by Stephen Kerrison at Tall Trees Audio Mastering, and completed with art direction/design by Chris Reeder and PETBRICK and Liminal logo by Iggor Cavalera. The record contains guest contributions from Steve Von Till (Neurosis), Jacob Bannon (Converge), Paula Rebbeledo (Rakta), and rappers Lord Goat and Truck Jewelz.

The lead single and opening track to PETBRICK’s Liminal, “Primer,” has been issued through a video directed by Wayne Adams, who writes, “‘Primer’ is a brutal smash to the face; a slow build lets rip with an unholy blast of thunderous drums and blasts of crushing distorted kick drums. The video for ‘Primer’ is a visual feast of lo-fi glitch and rot, tapping into the initial dread, horror, and release of a journey inwards.”

Cvlt Nation is hosting the video’s exclusive premiere, writing in part, “if you’re looking for something to meditate to this isn’t it. This is an electronic assault on your eardrums, a percussive invasion of your senses, a visual attack on your braincells!”

Let PETBRICK’s “Primer” video decimate your consciousness at Cvlt Nation RIGHT HERE.

Liminal will see release on vinyl and digital formats September 23rd in North America through Neurot Recordings and in Europe via Rocket Recordings. Find North American preorders HERE and international preorders HERE.

Additional audio/video previews and other PETBRICK announcements will be dispatched over the weeks ahead. Stand by for further updates.

Liminal Track Listing:
1. Primer
2. Arboria
3. Pigeon Kick
4. Raijin
5. Lysergic Aura (featuring Lord Goat and Truck Jewelz)
6. Damballa
7. Ayan
8. Grind You Dull (featuring Jake Bannon)
9. Chemical Returns
10. Distorted Peace (featuring Paula Rebellato)
11. Reckoning (featuring Steve Von Till)

PETBRICK has also confirmed tour dates supporting Converge and Full Of Hell this Fall, the tour running from November 6th through the 13th! Watch for additional live actions to be confirmed over the weeks ahead.

PETBRICK w/ Converge, Full Of Hell:
11/06/2022 Electric Brixton – London, UK
11/07/2022 La Cigale – Paris, FR
11/08/2022 Vooruit – Ghent, BE
11/09/2022 Doornroosje – Nijmegen, NL
11/10/2022 Columbia Theater – Berlin, DE
11/11/2022 Felsenkeller – Leipzig, DE
11/12/2022 Kulturfabrik – Esch-sur-Alzette, LU
11/13/2022 Essigfabrik – Köln, DE

In a world hurtling towards new frontiers of horror daily, there’s precious little time for pause. For the self-respecting artist, the only reasonable solution is psychic warfare. Moreover, the only way to wage this is without compromise, with the least possible respect for thresholds or co-ordinates of any kind. Such is the terrain of PETBRICK on the titanic and transformative Liminal.

Here on their second album the duo lays waste to all or any constrictions in its path, dispensing an assault of vibrant catharsis that is as rich in atmospheric dread as sulphuric intent. Blending a vast sonic landscape with a relentless compunction to break the pain barrier, Liminal is a dizzying exercise in overdrive which can take in industrial abrasions, pulverizing rhythmic drive, acid-damaged freakery, cinematic tension and balladic gravitas in disarmingly coherent fashion.

Existing in a resolutely post-genre realm, PETBRICK is a band quite comfortable both performing at the rave hoedown of Bangfest and amidst the riff-overload of Desertfest. This was reflected in the initial stages of this album’s gestation, with the duo finding themselves split between creating feral bursts of aggression and moments of psychedelic ambience. The balance between the yin and yang of their approach subsequently led to both the album’s diversity and its title.

The methodology that led to the cathartic brew of Liminal also arrived via new approaches to their meld of raw percussive aggression and equally caustic sonic textures. As Adams puts it, “I have an iconic drummer with a very unique sound to work with. How can we maybe use a D-Beat to create a brutal gabber track? How can we use his fills as breakcore eski drums, as in ‘Pigeon Kick’? And then something like ‘Ayan’ came around from me distorting the hell out of a samba tom beat to create an almost melodic line.”

Other heads and personalities also came on board to add richness and intrigue to the onslaught. “I believe we got an amazing team of collaborators, from old-school friends like Neurosis’ Steve Von Till and Converge’s Jacob Bannon to new-school artists like Paula Rebbeledo from Rakta and New York doom rappers Lord Goat and Truck Jewelz,” notes Cavalera. Indeed, the last-named’s bar-spitting fury hits just as viciously as Bannon’s paint-stripping vitriol. Meanwhile, Von Till’s closing denouement “Reckoning” conversely gains more power from its understatement, as Adams adds, “The clarity and minimal nature of that song in the context of this album makes it super intense, and somehow reveals how heavy a track like this can actually be.”

This is an album birthed in difficult times and expressly engaged with raging against the dying of the light. As Cavalera puts it, “Liminal is an insane mirror of what being isolated feels like – madness through noise experimentations.” An alchemical vision fit to both elevate the spirit and destroy everything in its path, Liminal is the sound of PETBRICK blasting their way through the boundaries of a fresh hell.