ORTHODOX: Spanish Avant-Doom Metal Cult Returns To Original Lineup For Proceed LP, Set For June Release Through Alone Records; “Past Seers” Streaming + Preorders Unveiled

photos by Ana Cáceres

Spanish avant-garde doom/drone experimentalists ORTHODOX, having reverted to their original lineup, have completed their latest album, Proceed. Confirming the record for release in June through Alone Records, the cover art, track listing, preorders, a brief teaser, and the lead track “Past Seers” have been unveiled.

ORTHODOX was born as a trio in Seville, Spain at the end of 2004. Starting from doom metal and absorbing influences from drone, jazz, and extreme metal, the band represents one of the most relevant but unpredictable bands of the Spanish metal underground.

After breaking through the international underground with their Gran Poder debut LP in 2006, ORTHODOX has released another six studio albums, multiple EPs, splits, singles, and more, released through respected labels like Southern Lord, Utech Records, God Unknown, and long-running allies, Alone Records.

Since 2014, ORTHODOX has operated as a duo, with bassist/vocalist Marco Serrato and drummer Borja Díaz handling all recording and live performances. However, Proceed sees the return of guitarist Ricardo Jiménez to the lineup for the first time since 2011’s Baal. To capture this mammoth album, in November 2021, Billy Anderson (Sleep, Melvins, High On Fire, Om, Neurosis, EyeHateGod) was flown to La Mina Studios in Sevilla, Spain, and recorded the album with assistant engineers Raúl Pérez and Nacho García. Anderson mixed the record at his Everything Hz back in Portland, Oregon, after which it was sent to Justin Weiss at Trakworx in San Francisco, California for mastering. Proceed was completed with artwork and illustrations by Fernando Rivas and layout/design by José Postigo.

Proceed represents ORTHODOX‘s return to its original essence, but also a step forward as a band. After a multitude of different projects around the band and a long way traveled, they are back to reel off heavy riffs like a three-headed juggernaut.

Sample the first audio from ORTHODOX’s Proceed LP with the streaming track “Past Seers” now at THIS LOCATION.

Alone Records will release Proceed on LP in two variants limited to 500 copies as well as digipak CD and digital formats on June 30th. Find preorders at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Stand by for additional audio previews, official videos, and more to post over the weeks ahead.

Proceed Track Listing:
1. Past Seers
2. Abendrot
3. Rabid God
4. Starve
5. The Son, The Sword, The Bread
6. The Long Defeat

ORTHODOX has performed at international festivals such as Hellfest, Roadburn, Supersonic, Amplifest, Primavera Sound, and many others, has collaborated with artists as diverse as Julian Cope and flamenco dancer Israel Galván, and has opened for Voïvod, High On Fire, Corrosion Of Conformity, and countless more. Watch for live performances across Europe to be posted as Proceed nears release.

Borja Díaz – drums
Ricardo Jiménez – guitars
Marco Serrato – bass/vocals