ODD CIRCUS: Avant-Rock Trio To Release Mantha EP April 2nd Via Good Idea Music; “Amarok” Video Now Playing + Preorders Available

Photo by Trevor Hall

Avant-rock trio ODD CIRCUS will release their mind-bending Mantha EP this April through Good Idea Music.

Operating out of Orlando, Florida and Washington, DC, the fittingly monikered ODD CIRCUS explores the suspension of space and time through sound. Forged in improvisation, the band’s music navigates a boundary-less sonic landscape that embraces the unknown and welcomes the bizarre. The result is an experimental style of psychedelic art-rock that weaves its way into garage, fusion, krautrock, no wave, post-rock, noise, hard psych, and sci-fi prog.

The band – saxophonist Graham Robertson (Aztec Sun, Bad Luck Gold, Tuff Lover, Astrocero), drummer Partin Whitaker (Prison Wine, We’re So Hip, ex-Diocious, ex-Savi Fernandez Band), and bassist/sound engineer Crews Carter (Prison Wine) – released their full-length debut Lunatic Children in 2019 and have since amassed a cult following. ODD CIRCUS reentered Sanitone Studio in Orlando, Florida in July of last year to kick off the first of a series of releases from these sessions beginning with this Spring’s Mantha EP.

In advance of the release of Mantha, today ODD CIRCUS unveils a mesmerizing video for first single, “Amarok,” noting of the track, “When you’re deep in improvisation and things lock into place, the music can suddenly feel like some mysterious creature stopping in for a visit. Every track on Mantha represents one of these little visitations, and ‘Amarok’ – a gigantic wolf from Inuit mythology that preys on lone hunters – is a pretty fitting metaphor for the way this moment unfolded. Emerging from a long and absolutely chaotic noise jam, ‘Amarok’ bided its time, stalked us, and as soon as it was ready, ate us alive.”

View ODD CIRCUS’ “Amarok” video, now playing at THIS LOCATION.

Compiled from free improvisations performed live, Mantha was recorded by the band, mixed by Crews Carter and ODD CIRCUS, and mastered by Joseph Carra at Crystal Mastering (Melbourne, Australia) with cover art by Katharina Maisenbacher.

Mantha will be released digitally via the band’s own Good Idea Music April 2nd. Find preorders at the ODD CIRCUS Bandcamp page at THIS LOCATION.

Mantha Track Listing:
1. Dybukk
2. Gezora
3. Amarok
4. Wendigo
5. Venadek
6. Djinn

Graham Robertson – saxophones, effects
Partin Whitaker – drums
Crews Carter – bass, effects