OCTOPLOID: Highly Anticipated Debut Album, Beyond The Aeons, To See Release This Friday Via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM); “A Dusk Of Vex [Feat. Jón Aldará]” Lyric Video Unveiled

Photo by Pete Voutilainen

OCTOPLOID, the band founded by bass player Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine (Amorphis, Barren Earth, Mannhai), will release their anticipated debut full-length, Beyond The Aeons, this Friday, July 5th, through Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM).

In celebration of the release, the group today shares a lyric video for closing track, “A Dusk Of Vesk [feat. Jón Aldará].” Comments Laine, “A crushing mid-tempo death metal riff, an arena chorus, a twisted foundation and a ‘70s AOR outro migrate here… making a coherent song out of those diverse ingredients is not only possible, but ‘A Dusk Of Vex’ is a living proof of that.”

Watch OCTOPLOID’s “A Dusk Of Vex [Feat. Jón Aldará]” lyric video HERE.

Watch OCTOPLOID’s previously released video for “Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen]” HERE, “The Dawns In Nothingness [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]” HERE, and “The Hallowed Flame [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]” HERE.

Beyond The Aeons was crafted at E-Studio in Sipoo, Finland, where Petri Majuri (Hanoi Rocks, Michael Monroe) took care of mixing the eight tracks and David Castillo (Katatonia, Leprous, Opeth) mastered the album. Orion Landau (Carcass, YOB, Russian Circles) completed the magnificent package with dreamy artwork.

Order Beyond The Aeons in the physical format of your choice (digipak CD, eco-friendly/recycled “Dusk Of Vex” Marbled vinyl), stream it on your favorite DSP, or order it digitally at octoploid.rpm.link/beyondtheaeonsPR.

Beyond The Aeons Track Listing:

  1. The Dawns In Nothingness [feat. Mikko Kotamäki] *
  2. Coast Of The Drowned Sailors [feat. Tomi Koivusaari & Janitor Muurinen] *
  3. Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen] *
  4. Shattered Wings [feat. Petri Eskelinen] #/%
  5. Beyond The Aeons #/%
  6. The Hallowed Flame [feat. Mikko Kotamäki] *
  7. Concealed Serenity [feat. Mikko Kotamäki] %
  8. A Dusk Of Vex [feat. Jón Aldará | physical: long version; digital: edit] ^/%

Bonus Track (physical only):

  1. Monotony [feat. Petri Eskelinen] %

* Kim Rantala (keyboards)

# Samu Leminen (additional lead guitars)

^ Ile Laaksomaa (additional lead guitar)

% Kasper Mårtenson (keyboards)

The release of Beyond The Aeons will also be supported by OCTOPLOID‘s very first live performance which is set to take place at On The Rocks in Helsinki, Finland next month, onAugust 2nd.

8/02/2024 On the Rocks – Helsinki, FI [Tickets]

OCTOPLOID formed in 2022. Combining elements from ‘90s death/black metal, ‘70s prog rock, and ‘90s psychedelic rock, their music has its own place on the map. In one phrase, OCTOPLOID‘s sound has been described as “classic death prog.

Built around Laine (bass, keyboards, backing vocals), the core band includes four additional musicians: Well-seasoned and diverse drummer Mikko Pietinen brings experience from stoner rock (MannhaI) and Finnish mainstream pop rock (Kasmir), while lead/rhythm guitarist Peter Salonen (The Kinky Thing; a band performing Finnish psych rock legends Kingston Wall covers) is new face in the scene. The five-piece is completed by keyboardist Kim Rantala (Giant Robot, ex-Amorphis) and vocalist Mikko Kotamäki (Swallow The Sun; live).

Subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube HERE and listen to “A Dusk Of Vex [feat. Jón Aldará; Edit]” as well as other new tracks in the RPM New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.


Mikko Kotamäki – vocals (live)

Peter Salonen – guitars

Kim Rantala – keyboards

Olli-Pekka Laine – bass, keyboards, backing vocals

Mikko Pietinen – drums, percussion

“Essentially essential!” – Metal Rules

“Melodic-melancholic masterpiece.” — Powermetal.de

“Whoever criticizes missing innovation in music will be proved wrong by this record.” — Aardschok

“Although the Amorphis connection should be enough for anyone to just sample this record. Once you do, you will find yourself glued to the speakers with the record on ‘repeat.’ Aside from the easy-to-recognize references, the music of OCTOPLOID branches out just like the tentacles pictured on the record’s cover artwork.” — Metal Kaoz

“This album catapults progressive death metal back on the screen.” — Rock Hard Italy

“The passion of the involved musicians can literally be heard in every single note.” — Metal Hammer Germany

“This is already one of the albums of the year!” — TNT Radio Rock

“…delivering many highlights, the album leaves more than just a good impression.” – Time For Metal

#4 “Album Of The Month” — Metal.de