NOVARUPTA: New Noise Magazine Premieres “Stones” Video From Blackened Sludge Collaboration Uniting Current/Past Members Of The Moth Gatherer, Dark Tranquillity, Entombed, Domkraft, And More

Photo by Peo Bengtsson Photography

View / Share NOVARUPTA’s “Stones” At THIS LOCATION

NOVARUPTA, the blackened sludge metal project spear-headed by Alex Stjernfeldt (The Moth Gatherer, Mr. Death et al), will unleash its Disillusioned Fire debut via Suicide Records on Monday April 29th. In advance of its release, New Noise Magazine unveils the band’s video for “Stones,” featuring Tomas Liljedahl (ex-Breach, The Old Wind).

Issues Stjernfeldt of the moving clip, “‘Stones” was one of the first tracks written and recorded for NOVARUPTA. In some ways, it was to throw everything I’ve picked up in music the last ten years out the window and return to my musical roots. At the same time, the riffs and sounds came from a really dark place within me that has sadly gotten [to be] a bigger place inside the older I get. The result for me is a crushing experience that tears your thoughts apart, forcing you to face the essence of you. When Tomas from Breach/The Old Wind put down his vocals, I knew that this would become a song that will forever be important to me. And I hope that people who hears it can feel the naked frustration and honesty in it.”

View NOVARUPTA’s “Stones,” courtesy of New Noise Magazine, at THIS LOCATION.

NOVARUPTA‘s Disillusioned Fire was mixed by Kristoffer Folin (Domkraft), mastered by Karl Daniel Lidén (Terra Tenebrosa, Greenleaf, Crippled Black Phoenix), and comes swathed in the cover renderings of Arjen Kunnen (Amenra).

The record will be released on CD, LP, and digital formats. For preorders visit the Suicide Records’ Bandcamp page at THIS LOCATION where “Pyroclastic Flows,” “Ourang Medan,” and “Mare Tranquillitatis” can be streamed.

Following his departure from The Moth Gatherer, Stjernfeldt stood disillusioned while facing an uncertain and bleak future. Fueled by depression and frustration and a need to explore a deeper and darker musical direction while also returning to the roots from which he came, the foundation of NOVARUPTA was born. Blurring the lines between band and project, collective and art, the composing of the debut was a cooperative effort between old and new friends, coming together in an open and creative forum, contributing to what was to become the fittingly titled Disillusioned Fire.

Disillusioned Fire features a host of notable vocalists including Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity), Jörgen Sandström (Krux, ex-Entombed, ex-Grave.), Martin Wegeland (Domkraft), Tomas Liljedahl (ex-Breach, The Old Wind), Claudio Marino (Tid), Joel Segerstedt (The Open Up And Bleeds), Jonas A. Holmberg (This Gift Is A Curse), and Ossian Reynolds (Lola Zaza), each adding his own dark tinge to a record wrought with deep, dismal emotion.

Disillusioned Fire Track Listing:
1. Stones (feat. Tomas Liljedahl)
2. Pyroclastic Flows (feat. Jörgen Sandström)
3. Tumskruvar (feat. Claudio Marino, Joel Segerstedt, Ossian Reynolds)
4. Mare Tranquillitatis (feat. Mikael Stanne)
5. Only The Dirt Will Know Our Graves (feat. Jonas A. Holmberg)
6. Ourang Medan (feat. Martin Wegeland)

“…moody sludge that rolls in waves of intensity…” – Decibel

“…an especially brilliant example of metal’s ability to transform despair and destruction into beautiful new creations.” – Invisible Oranges

“…the album finds balance amongst elements of post-metal, black, sludge, and doom. Everything about the combinations thereof in these songs feels extremely organic. Particular standout examples of this exist on the tracks ‘Pyroclastic Flows’ and ‘Mare Tranquillitatis’ where we are treated to guitar lines that seamlessly weave in and out to create brilliant textures and melodies underlying this immense, ominous sound.” — Heavy Blog Is Heavy

“…a cathartic expression that lets the sludge metal it works with not be so tense and those who partake to have a chance to simply fall to the ground if they need to.” — Captured Howls