NO LIGHTS: Bay Area Post-Punk/Indie Act With Kowloon Walled City, Early Graves, Set Your Goals Members To Release Dream Eraser Debut LP On The Ghost Is Clear; Single, Preorders, And Tour Dates Posted

photos by Vanessa Caron-Cantin

San Francisco-based quartet NO LIGHTS announces their debut LP, Dream Eraser, confirming the album for June release through The Ghost Is Clear Records, today unveiling the cover art, track listing, preorders, and lead single, “Shallow Breathing.”

There isn’t an obvious phonic principle that connects the post-punk, indie pop of NO LIGHTS to more than two decades of Bay Area hardcore and metal. Perhaps it’s more a family resemblance than anything else, uniting guitarist/lead vocalist Matt O’Brien (Early Graves, Grace Alley), guitarist Israel Branson (Set Your Goals), bassist Ian Miller (Kowloon Walled City, Redemption 87), and drummer Dan Sneddon (Kowloon Walled City, Early Graves).

Like the streets of San Francisco in a Hitchcock movie, there is something familiar here, but never obvious whether it’s more beautiful or more troubling than real life. The references don’t evoke nostalgia, aren’t reverential. And trying to pinpoint specific influences is like trying to tell the difference between the digital and the analog, between tubes and tape and bits and bites: an exercise in feeling rather than precision. NO LIGHTS released the double/paired EPs Stay Awake and June Bug just before the world shut down in early 20202, and now, 2023 sees the band delivering their debut full length record, Dream Eraser.

With ten lush tracks, Dream Eraser tactfully delivers an emotive and captivating blend of sounds listeners could possibly trace to The Pixies, The Cure, The Wipers, Echo And The Bunnymen, and more. The album was recorded and mixed by Scott Evans at Sharkbite and Anti Sleep Studios, mastered by Carl Saff, and completed with artwork by Justin Mcniff.

Hear the first single from NO LIGHTS’ Dream Eraser, “Shallow Breathing,” now streaming at THIS LOCATION.

Dream Eraser will be released on 180-gram Black Vinyl and all digital platforms on June 9th through The Ghost Is Clear. Find digital preorders at the NO LIGHTS Bandcamp HERE, and digital/vinyl preorders at the label Bandcamp HERE and webshop HERE.

Stand by for an official video and additional singles to drop as the album nears release.

Dream Eraser Track Listing:
1. Sparrows
2. Shallow Breathing
3. Nowhere To Run
4. Echoes In The Dark
5. Antenna
6. Degenerator
7. Head In A Cage
8. Dream Eraser
9. Summer School
10. Fade Away

NO LIGHTS will support Dream Eraser with live performances, including multiple regional tours. April 27th through 29th they will hit the Northwest, playing shows in Redding, Portland, and Seattle with If It Kills You. A month later, May 25th through 28th they’ll hit the South, playing Denton, Oklahoma City, Houston, And Austin with Mall Walker.

NO LIGHTS Tour Dates:
4/27/2023 The Dip – Redding, CA w/ If It Kills You
4/28/2023 High Water Mark – Portland, OR w/ If It Kills You
4/29/2023 Bad Bar – Seattle, WA w/ If It Kills You
5/25/2023 Rubber Gloves – Denton, TX w/ Mall Walker, Flowerbed, Unspell
5/26/2023 Mass Movement – Oklahoma City, OK w/ Mall Walker, Speak, Memory, Plain Speak
5/27/2023 Starseed Hostel – Houston, TX w/ Mall Walker, As We Shiver, Fun Haunts
5/28/2023 Chess Club – Austin, TX w/ Mall Walker, Capture Phase, Tied Up

Watch for additional tour dates to post over the weeks ahead.

Matt O’Brien – guitar, lead vocals
Ian Miller – bass
Dan Sneddon – drums
Israel Branson – guitar