MYOPIC & AT THE GRAVES To Release A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread Collaborative Full-Length March 12th Via Grimoire Records; Preorders Available

Photo by Jay Cardinell

Washington, DC-based progressive doom trio MYOPIC and Baltimore, Maryland-based one-man doom/sludge unit AT THE GRAVES have united for the release of A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread, a full collaborative full-length set for release on March 12th via Grimoire Records.

Forged in 2010, MYOPIC released a blackened death metal demo in 2011, followed by their Vacuous EP in 2013, which showcased a darker, slower, and more introspective direction for the band. The band joined forces with Grimoire Records a year later for the release of the Beyond The Mirror’s Edge EP which Brooklyn Vegan crowned, “stern but thoroughly un-kvlt American black metal,” praising its production and unconventional songwriting. A split release with Appalachian black metallers Torrid Husk — Crawling Mountain Apogee — would emerge later that year where MYOPIC continued their progression towards slower, longer, and more sprawling compositions. Bordering on concept album territory, their approach received critical acclaim nationally with Invisible Oranges writing, “a band that can tie a story together without relying on their scream is a band worth your time.” MYOPIC released their self-titled full-length in 2018. Championed Svbterranean, “With over fifty minutes at their disposal, MYOPIC deliver multifaceted compositions that weave elements of black, death, progressive and post-metal into a dynamic and destructive sound.”

Ben Price (Immiseration, Elagabalus, Foehammer, Textile, ex-Revolta, ex-Xozo) has been playing music under the name AT THE GRAVES with various other members fulfilling band duties since 2009. Formed out of the desire to play guitar and a slower and more emotionally deep form of music, Price has been operating as a one-man-band since the release of 2016 full-length, Cold And True which Outlaws Of The Sun called, “a harsh and desolate cold as hell experience with the music instantly you drawing in.” Influenced by the likes of Neurosis, Godflesh, My Bloody Valentine, and Nirvana, AT THE GRAVES‘ live performances heavily leverage the use of looper pedals, backing tracks and a live percussion set-up consisting of rack mounted toms and cymbals.

MYOPIC and AT THE GRAVES met in 2013 at the Velvet Lounge in Washington, DC, and have gigged together frequently since then. Having become good friends and sharing similar musical interests, the two bands have talked about collaborating on a project for years. In 2019, the bands began writing the material that would eventually become A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread.

Comments MYOPIC bassist/vocalist Nick Leonard, “We’ve been writing as a three-piece for all our releases, and AT THE GRAVES has been a one-man band for years, so it’s been a fun challenge to combine our sounds and write for as a four-piece with three vocalists. We’re very proud of the result and the new ground this album breaks for both of our bands.”

Adds Price, “Finally doing the collab with the homies in MYOPIC was deeply satisfying. It was the most collaborative and difficult writing process I’ve been a part of and I’m very stoked on the album.”

A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread will be released digitally and on limited edition CD with teaser tracks to be released in the coming weeks. For preorders, visit THIS LOCATION.

A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread Track Listing:
1. Through Veins of Shared Blood
2. Gold Sinews
3. Reeling Between
4. Oppressive Ruminations
5. Stray Parasite
6. Resonating Loss

Sean Simmons – vocals, guitar
Nick Leonard – bass, vocals
Michael Brown – drums

Ben Price – guitars, vocals, drums