MYOPIC & AT THE GRAVES: BrooklynVegan Premieres “Through Veins Of Shared Blood” From A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread; Collaborative Full-Length To See Release Via Grimoire Records

Photo by Ben Price

BrooklynVegan is currently streaming “Through Veins Of Shared Blood” from Washington, DC-based progressive doom trio MYOPIC and Baltimore, Maryland-based one-man doom/sludge unit AT THE GRAVES. The punishing track comes off A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread, a collaborative full-length set for release on March 12th via Grimoire Records.

MYOPIC and AT THE GRAVES met in 2013 at the Velvet Lounge in Washington, DC, and have since gigged together frequently. Having become good friends and sharing similar musical interests, the two bands have talked about uniting for a singular project for years. In 2019, the idea came to fruition with the six-track A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread.

Writes BrooklynVegan of the record’s first single, “‘Through Veins Of Shared Blood’ [is] a crushing sludge song with flashes of black metal fury and hardcore attitude.”

Notes MYOPIC vocalist/guitarist Sean Simmons, “I think of this song as sort of a sandbox that helped us find the style and direction for the rest of the album. The rhythmic riff that you first hear at :55 was one of the first standalone riffs [AT THE GRAVES‘] Ben [Price] brought to the table. Figuring out what to put before and after to turn the riff into a song was a fun challenge for everyone, and sort of kicked off the learning curve of making each band’s style become complementary to each other.”

Adds Price, “This one is about the feeling of not asking to be born and unwillingly being subject to the pressures and molds of society. I made up a new tuning and brought the resultant riffs to practice, and they all got severely morphed into what the song ended up being. We worked especially hard on this one — it went through many permutations — but I think we were all very stoked about it.”

Read more and stream “Through Veins Of Shared Blood” only at BrooklynVegan at THIS LOCATION.

A Cold Sweat Of Quiet Dread will be released digitally and on limited edition CD. For preorders, visit the Grimoire Records Bandcamp page THIS LOCATION.

Forged in 2010, MYOPIC released a blackened death metal demo in 2011, followed by their Vacuous EP in 2013, which showcased a darker, slower, and more introspective direction for the band. The band joined forces with Grimoire Records a year later for the release of the Beyond The Mirror’s Edge EP which Brooklyn Vegan crowned, “stern but thoroughly un-kvlt American black metal,” praising its production and unconventional songwriting. A split release with Appalachian black metallers Torrid Husk – Crawling Mountain Apogee – would emerge later that year where MYOPIC continued their progression towards slower, longer, and more sprawling compositions. Bordering on concept album territory, their approach received critical acclaim nationally with Invisible Oranges writing, “a band that can tie a story together without relying on their scream is a band worth your time.” MYOPIC released their self-titled full-length in 2018. Championed Svbterranean, “With over fifty minutes at their disposal, MYOPIC deliver multifaceted compositions that weave elements of black, death, progressive and post-metal into a dynamic and destructive sound.”

Ben Price (Immiseration, Elagabalus, Foehammer, Textile, ex-Revolta, ex-Xozo) has been playing music under the name AT THE GRAVES with various other members fulfilling band duties since 2009. Formed out of the desire to play guitar and a slower and more emotionally deep form of music, Price has been operating as a one-man-band since the release of 2016 full-length, Cold And True which Outlaws Of The Sun called, “a harsh and desolate cold as hell experience with the music instantly you drawing in.” Influenced by the likes of Neurosis, Godflesh, My Bloody Valentine, and Nirvana, AT THE GRAVES‘ live performances heavily leverage the use of looper pedals, backing tracks and a live percussion set-up consisting of rack mounted toms and cymbals.

Sean Simmons – vocals, guitar
Nick Leonard – bass, vocals
Michael Brown – drums

Ben Price – guitars, vocals, drums